We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small place worth trying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinese Szechuan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinese Szechuan
3059 Hopyard Road, Pleasanton, CA 94566
925 846 5251
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 198 Restaurants in Pleasanton
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A small place worth trying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As soon as we sat down in this restaurant, our server brought us glasses of ice water and a pot of hot tea with cups--a very welcome start to our meal. The day's lunch special, Malabar prawns, and the eggplant in hot garlic sauce were both exceptional--generous portions, perfectly seasoned, reasonably priced. Smaller and less well-known than some other local Chinese restaurants, this one is worth finding in a small center off Hopyard Road. Several shops down is Pans on Fire, a very cute little cooking shop worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Good caryout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Picked up food to have in my hotel room and was pleasantly surprised. They sure give you a lot of food for the money. I liked the crab rangoon - probably my favorite part of the whole meal. The General Tsao chicken had a ton of meat in it. The folks were friendly when I picked up my food and the place seemed to be good for dining in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good taste and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant is conveniently located in a quiet area. There are many choice in the menu. The food are decent and well priced. The service ladies are very nice and friendly as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have been there for dinner and a birthday "feast"
Great place for a party
The staff is Very Caring and present a great party
Dinner is excellent--tried much on the menu--all good portions and very good quality
Will continue to eat there
Sorry they are closed on Mondays
Honey Walnut Prawns--great choice..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is near our home and we get take-out from them about once a month. It's good. They never mess up. Lunches are quick and just right portions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Szechuan also viewed

 
Pleasanton, CA
 

Been to Chinese Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinese Szechuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.