We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Vineyard..great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Hill Winery

Ruby Hill Winery
400 Vineyard Avenue, Pleasanton, CA 94566
(925) 931-9463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Pleasanton
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
austin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Vineyard..great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I love this vineyard...the wine pourers were very hospitable and knowledgeable about their wines and were punctual in giving taste samples during the wine tastings I encountered.
It has a great lil gift shop and there was a great variety of
wines offered to be sampled or bought. I would definitely recommend this vineyard to friends and business associates.
Loved the experience and loved the wine!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For a good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everyone's taste is different, but I liked the wine, even bought a bottle, forgot which one though, something like cielo viola. But the Sommolier was informative and friendly. It is has great grounds and unforgettable building for tasting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting Wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Poor service, we stood there for ages and had to ask for a tasting. Every single wine we tried was awful and we tried them all. I was going to buy a bottle of wine but there was nothing I wanted there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gem Zin...'enuf said!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last Saturday afternoon we stopped by RH with friends who are Members of the Wine Club and enjoyed the "good stuff" as guests of those great friends.

I review travel, wine and food destinations so I usually don't join Wine Clubs, both because I feel that it may be a conflict of interest, and it can get, "down-right-expensive", over the long-term. Most wineries do honor the trade and offer me personal tastings, which I greatly appreciate. That gives me the opportunity to try their best wines for my reviews. However, that doesn't stop me from visiting new and old favorites on a regular basis, and I do.

Let me point out some of the outstanding people that helped us on Saturday. Sue, Sara, Travis and Gina were spectacular hosts. Thank you. Oh, and thanks for the cheese and crackers too. Caviar next time please...lol.

I'll skip to the good part now. The Gem Zin was a great bottle of wine at around $ 40 dollars and a close second was the Reserve Cab, $30ish, that was being tasted from the "A" list that day. The Gem Zin had just the right amount of all of my favorite flavors in a Zinfandel, ( superb at-the-price), and the Cab would give a whole bunch of Napa growers a run-for-their-money.

Yes, I know that these wines won awards recently...I do pay attention you know.

If you go to RH Winery refer to this review please.

I'll be back again with and without, our friends Tim & Charlene.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“The Best Livermore Valley Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

They have a great range of inexpensive and medium priced wines. You get what you pay for, but they have a way of making every wine feel special.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Hill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Hill Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ruby Hill Winery to your Saves list