We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tapas menu is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coco Cabana
4500-C Tassajara Road, Pleasanton, CA 94566
9255569055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coco Cabana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 227 Restaurants in Pleasanton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dublin Blvd.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Tapas menu is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is fun and we love coming here for drinks and Tapas. Great food! The Barbacoa tacos are amazing! The goat cheese plate is a must. The humus plate is great, too. Cocktails are fun here and when it is warm, it is nice to sit outside.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very average food. I ordered pasta with chicken which was Luke warm. It tasted reheated rather than fresh cooked since the chicken had that next day rubber texture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money; Interesting Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I came here for dinner with the family and had a good experience. The ambiance is dark but not too romantic. Our server was personable and overall it was an enjoyable evening

We all had cocktails and they we very good, and my mojito was excellent.
We shared four starters, which were cooked to perfection. So were all the entrees. The desert menu was not very exciting.

Coco Cabana is great for adults, but probably not for kids. Overall pretty good, but the cost will be somewhere between $40 and $50 a head.

I have heard that they have a live band and a younger crowd on Friday nights, and that their bar and tapas menu are excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Very good new choice in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were very pleased with Coco Cabana in Dublin (the former location of Stacy's at Waterford). We opted to go with tapas and shared several dishes. The empanadas were very good, coco shrimp was delicious, crab cakes were pretty good, and the desserts were outstanding. I am looking forward to going back to try some entrees. The only negative is that it is VERY loud.......you can hardly hold a conversation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loud but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Coco Cabana is located in Pleasanton, Ca. part of a relatively new area. The interior is modern, loud, but you can escape to the outside for reduced noise, weather permitting. There is a bar/lounge and a menu with Tapas and main courses. They also have a happy hour every day, different hours on different days . (Happy hour prices aren't half price).

I ordered Coco Shrimp, Tomato Curry Soup, and PRIMAVERA – mixed greens, goat cheese, blackberries, strawberries, cucumbers & candied walnuts, I also had a happy hour lamb on a skewer with saffron infused sticky rice. My wife order POLLO CON CHAMPINONES – grilled chicken breast topped with mushrooms & bell peppers in a creamy smoked pepper sauce, served with grilled asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes. The shrimp sauce was sweet and spicy, the salad, although nothing fancy was very well put together and tasty, and maybe the best was the Tomato Curry soup, a rich and thick coconut bases concoction - which I highly recommend. My wife reported that her chicken was ok but not as good a she remembered it. She also like my soup and lamb and favored the saffron rice over her mashed potatoes.

Service was fairly fast, but in all fairness we came at about 5:30 on a Sunday and the place was probably 1/4 full at best. Despite that the noise level was quite high.

Parking was plentiful and the general area is attractive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cabana also viewed

 

Been to Coco Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.