We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depending on your expectations... Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Pleasant Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Pleasant Hill to your Saves list
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2611 Contra Costa Blvd, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Pleasant Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pleasant Hill
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Depending on your expectations... Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just finished a four night stay at Summerfield Suites -- They are renaming it Hyatt House, or something like that in January 2012... Depending on what you are looking for -- It was pretty good. If you're like me on this trip -- If you are looking for a little more room for a family trip at a reasonable price, this is a really good choice. If you are looking for something more upscale, you'll be a little disappointed. The separate room our kids was great - and the central sitting room was nice if someone wanted to stay up late or get up earlier to watch some TV or read on the sofa without disturbing others. The interior and bathroom fixtures were a bit dated, but was sufficient for our needs. Plus, free parking -- which saves you anywhere from $15-$40 per night depending on where you stay in the Bay Area. The breakfast and evening snacks were nice - but not great quality. There were nice food and entertainment options right down the street -- Century movie theater, Peet's Coffee, Five Guys Burger, Jamba Juice, Lucky Supermarket, Original Pancake House, and other restaurants. Right off the 680 for easy access to get to San Francisco and Berkeley - which is where we were headed.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the parking lot -- not the freeway... And don't get a room overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne R, Director of Sales at HYATT house Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your hotel experience on Trip Advisor. We value the opportunity to assist you with your accommodations and look forward to a future opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    57
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
62
25
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Overall, our experience at the hotel was good. The front desk guy, Robert, truly made our stay a lot better! He was helpful and informative and just seemed like a genuinely nice individual.

Other than that, the rooms and services and amenities were as expected from a Hyatt. It was good, clean, and comfortable. However, our AC/Heater in our room must have broke or something because whether it was on or off it would make a strange buzzing sound. We called the front desk and it seemed like they didn’t want to come up and check it because he kept asking me if it was annoying me. Uhm, yes, it was annoying me and I want it fixed. He did come up promptly after we hang up the phone, and something was indeed wrong, but he said there wasn't anyone from maintenance available (it was around 11:30pm). He was able to adjust unit until the buzzing went away. Nothing else happened during our stay – but we did not turn it on again…Side note: The unit is rather loud in general.

There was some construction going around either at the hotel or in a nearby area, and it woke us up around 8:30 am. Not complaining, just saying.

The breakfast was great as well – Thursday and Friday, there were scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, various cereals, bagels, breads, and English muffins, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice, etc. In addition to that, on Saturday they served French toast. And on Sunday they served pancakes. I don’t know if the pancake/French toast was a weekend thing only.

There are various shops/restaurants literally across the street. It was a great place to walk around after dinner or during the day. Also, within a 3 mile drive is a mall with the main shops, Macys, Sears, Footlocker, etc.

I would definitely recommend the hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPleasantHillCA, General Manager at HYATT house Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your hotel experience on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted that your stay experience was positively memorable. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Cali
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My family of four stayed at this hotel at the end of July when visiting friends and we were very pleased. It has easy access to the freeway, shopping and best of all-our friend's home. I would recommend having the buffet breakfast included in your purchase price of the hotel. We were able to do this through Priceline.com. It is actually really good, not just a continental. The rooms are nice w/ a small kitchen; including fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. The have a nice pool and spa which the kids really liked. We went to 6 Flags the next day and it only took us about 35 minutes to get there. Plenty of time to wake-up, eat breakfast, and drive over there for their 10am opening. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne R, Director of Sales at HYATT house Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on the HYATT house Pleasant Hill. My apologies for my delay in acknowledging your post.

I wanted to share with you that since your stay with us in 2011, our hotel has undergone a name change from the Hyatt Summerfield Suites to the HYATT house as well as an extensive renovation.

We hope to see you back here soon. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have stayed here on two separate occasions, a total of 4 nights. The property looks nice. The rooms are older, but somewhat updated. The beds are comfortable. If you are not facing the back (pool) then you will be facing a busy service road and a busy highway. It will be noisy, all night. I am a light sleeper and this was a problem for me, even with ear plugs. They switched me to a back facing room (which I had requested originally, but the request was lost) right across from my original room, which was convenient. It was quiet. However, there was hair on the towels and - honestly, I am in the medical field, I know what I am talking about - dried blood on one of the knives in the drawer. This is really, really bad. ALL of the silverware, dishes, etc. should be run through the washer after a guest leaves, not just the obviously dirty. People touch more than one spoon or whatever, when they pull it out of the drawer, naturally. In this case, I think someone reached in and cut their finger on a knife. I called down to report this and the staff showed appropriate concern, but what could they do? It was gross. The bedside lamp was broken also. Also, on two occasions, once while showering late in the morning and once while taking a back about 1 am (after work!) the water was not hot, just lukewarm. Finally the AC units in the rooms (they are actually in the bedroom portion, are VERY loud - effective, but loud. I could not sleep with mine one. I cooled down the room and then turned it off. In the summer, or on an unusually hot night, I think this wold be a considerable problem. I did not try any of the breakfast. The coffee was good. The staff were OK - the night staff was a very helpful woman (Aisha?) but during the day it was a bit hit or miss. OH YES - You will HAVE to sign a "Good Behavior" form - honest to god, I --- you not!! No urinating off of the roof, no driving cars into the pool. I personally found this offensive and stupid. People who are going to misbehave are going to do so whether or not they have signed a form. People who are not going to misbehave don't need to sign a form regardles. I was incredulous at this aspect of the sign in process. Maybe you won't mind, but I found it irritating. And for whatever reason, they would not accept my company's business card to pay in advance (I work for a medium sized company) so I had to pay with my own card - one more little annoyance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

First off, really enjoyed the hotel and the location. Good suite (2 bedroom), exceptional cleanliness and great amenities (breakfast, workout room,pool,parking). Something they don't mention is you are really, really (really !) close to a nice shopping/restaurant area that would be very handy indeed if you were there for a week or more (we were there 4 days).
Pleasant Hill/Walnut Creek seem to be very nice, high end areas as well.
That being said, the hotel is 250 feet from the freeway. The rooms in the front suffer from highway noise. Get a room/suite on the sides or in the back.

Room Tip: Get a suite at the side/back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently stayed here as a base while visiting the San Francisco and Napa Valley area. It is very convenient to the BART. We had a two room suite and it was very clean with comfortable rooms, two bathrooms, a living room and kitchen area. The free breakfast was very good. We weren't bothered by any noise, even though our room faced the highway. We found it well-suited to our needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

not as nice as the summerfield suites in pleasanton, but was okay. set up like a regular hotel with long hallways. the summerfield in pleasanton is more spread out with no hallways. easier to get around. but overall, was okay with nice beds that you always get at the hyatt chains. they were nice enough to give us a shuttle to bart station. breakfast was the usual,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Pleasant Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pleasant Hill

Address: 2611 Contra Costa Blvd, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Pleasant Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pleasant Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pleasant Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pleasant Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Interstate-680 and minutes from Walnut Creek and Concord, the HYATT house™ Pleasant Hill hotel offers travelers access to many of the areas popular destinations, including Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Lescher Center for the Arts, and Boundary Oaks Golf Course. This Pleasant Hill hotel is also conveniently accessible to area colleges and universities such as St. Mary’s College, California State University East Bay, and the University of California Berkeley. For business travelers, the Pleasant Hill hotel is close to the corporate offices of Bank of America, Wells Fargo, and Aetna Insurance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Pleasant Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Pleasant Hill Hotel Pleasant Hill
Summerfield Suites Pleasant Hill
Hyatt Pleasant Hill
Pleasant Hill Summerfield Suites
Pleasant Hill Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Pleasant Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.