We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Tired but Great Location for Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Tracy, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old & Tired but Great Location for Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I have made a tradition of attending the annual antique faire the last weekend in September and really enjoy that and also the town of Placerville.

We stayed last year at the Historic Cary House and other than the location, I'd say that was really all it had to offer. The room had a strange layout and the furniture was old but not antique. Just old. It was a depressing room. I don't know if all the rooms are like the one we got but for the money (around $130) we expected better.

We don't plan to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    20
    18
    12
See reviews for
35
62
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights.

VERY pricey for what was actually on offer - we were a bit surprised and disappointed to learn that breakfast wasn't included in the price.

We parked our car in the hotel's parking lot behind the hotel. We left it at midnight and came out at 6.30am to find it had been broken in to and a few items were stolen. We learned there wasn't any video security at all - it wouldn't cost the hotel much to install one, or hire a security guard - we heard from a few locals that Placerville has a number of meth-heads so this parking lot is probably easy pickings for them on a regular basis. The money they charge for the rooms would easily cover an improved security package!

The room itself was fine - good size, clean. What stood out for us was the friendly receptionist (I think her name was Rachel) who couldn't have been more helpful and cheery.

Probably wouldn't stay again...there are plenty of cheaper options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-GenMgr, General Manager at Historic Cary House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Our thanks to you for visiting the Historic Cary House Hotel. We're so glad to hear that the room met your expectations for both size and cleanliness, and that our customer service staff stood out positively during your stay. You're absolutely correct, there are almost always "cheaper" lodging options, but definitely not for guests interested in staying in a historic downtown district just steps away from entertainment, shopping, art, wine, dining, and at least six breakfast restaurants open every morning. We're sorry to hear first from the review about your car incident. In responding to your concerns, we verified with local police that there has not been a single report of vandalism or theft in the city's parking lot that you used, which is directly across from the city's Fire Station, and behind our hotel, in at least the past year. By the way, there are more security cameras than you've been told. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip. Here's wishing you the very safest travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel which is more than 150 years old is wonderful! Full of historic Gold Rush antiques and history, including well-known guests such as Mark Twain and Elvis Presley. Room was small, but to be expected for hotel of this age. On a wonderful street with old fashioned candy shop, antique stores, restaurants and bars. Only problem is everything seems to close down around 6:00 p.m. except the restaurants and bars. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have to start with how nice they are at the front desk. Personalized attention and more. That first impression is everything and they want the guest to be happy. Our room was a perfect fit for 2. We had a small refrigerator and cook top stove in the room. Just enough closet space and drawers for folded clothes.
The bathroom had a tub/shower which was provided quick hot water and served it purpose. There is a medium size flat screen TV on the dresser which gave us all the popular channels.
The Victorian feel is what really sets the Cary House apart from anything. A lot of history around the lobby to look and read about and just the overall feel sets you back in time.
The hotel is 6 minutes(driving) away from the closest winery, Boeger - followed by many more a few minutes drive.
Next door to the hotel is a wine and arts store and throughout town, all walking distance, are many more bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel has free parking behind it. They also offer free coffee, tea and juice each morning.
We will make a return visit in September when the apples come into season.

Room Tip: #203 is at end of short hallway, with a community balcony looking over the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay at the hotel with my wife. The service of the staff rivaled that of any 4 star hotel we have ever stayed. Staff was very friendly. Great location for the historic district in Placerville.

Room Tip: Get your ice bucket filled before the desk closes for the evening. Visit the Thomas Kinkade gallery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Take a walk back into history - impressive lobby, 1920's elevator and period decorated bedrooms - all original - all well maintained and comfortable. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, however the breakfast is very minimal and thankfully there were no ghostly bumps in the night!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent the night in the 'haunted' Cary House Hotel in Placerville, Ca. The room we had was great - with two seperate sleeping areas and a kitchenette. My bed was great but my partner stated his bed was not very comfortable. The hotel creaks but we did not see any paranormal activity. However, the bar across the street was rocking and rolling until the wee hours of the morning. I slept through it on my comfy bed, my friend on the uncomfortable bed was kept awake. Unfortunately, we slept through their breakfast, but the hotel is located in the historic district, so we found a little coffee shop down the street. The hotel lobby is very pretty, the historic, old elevator was fun to ride in, and the location was great. Nice area for parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.