We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On Monday morning I went to the front desk to ask a question and was told to tone it down as I was too peppy for a Monday morning. Things went down hill from there. The breakfast room was never neat. There was sugar, cereal and drinks spilled on the tables and serving area. They ran out of cups and bowls and the staff didn't seem to care. One day after being away from the hotel for the day I entered my room to find my window open and a man standing outside my room. Other guests had access to the same balcony so now other guests had access to my room. When I expressed my concern to the staff I was told its Placerville and not to worry about it. On my final morning I asked for fruit and was told they ran out. So I told the clerk my opinion of the poor service. She yelled at me as I walked out to meet the car taking me to the airport. As quaint as the hotel is I would never stay there again. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-GenMgr, General Manager at Historic Cary House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We take all of our reviews very seriously here at the Historic Cary House Hotel, as we did yours. Let me start by saying we're very proud of the review scores our guests have given us - especially for customer service. With that said, unlike so many others, you obviously didn't enjoy your stay and we're sorry about that. It says here this is the first review you've submitted, so we're not sure how often you travel. And while it may be a mistake, it also says your visit was in April of last year. Regardless, we would strongly recommend for future trips that if you ever encounter events such as you're suggesting happened here, that you take a minute to contact the Hotel Manager directly, most preferably while you're still on site. As described, these instances would be unacceptable and completely out of character for our team. We would always appreciate the chance to know about and assess a situation like this in real time, as well as the opportunity, as needed, to directly assure you that your concerns were addressed.
Again, thank you for your input. We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    21
    17
    13
See reviews for
36
68
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wheatland, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I felt like we stepped back in time (in a good way) when we walked into the lobby to check in. It was nicely decorated and had music playing in the background. The man at the desk was very friendly.

Our room was on the small side, but it was the perfect size for our one night stay. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were a little thin, but I brought my own just in case. I am very particular when it comes to pillows.

The hotel is right in downtown Placerville so you can walk to several shops, coffee shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the Heyday Cafe which was pretty much across the street. And for breakfast we walked down the street to Sweetie Pie's. I think the hotel served a light breakfast, but we wanted to try out the restaurant.

Room Tip: We were going to book on Priceline, but then check out the hotel's website and reserved with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What could be better than a 150-year old historic hotel located in the heart of historic Placerville? Close to shopping, events and restaurants and a great getaway for couples or friends. The rooms are a bit outdated, but immaculately clean and very comfortable. Our 4th floor room was close to Main Street, which was close to Liar's Bench, the local drink, sing and get wild local's bar. We loved the karaoke on Friday night until 10:00, but if you don't, then book a room at the back of the hotel, as the noise of the bar and street traffic can be loud. The lobby is a good hang out spot, with lots of historical artifacts to admire, and the ancient (2nd oldest west of the Rockies) elevator was a fun ride to our 4th floor destination. We appreciatecd the book in our room that outlined local historic characters, which provided us with some insight as to the historical importance of Hangtown and the Cary House. Take time to admire the woodwork and amazing stairway. Looking forward to another stay in Placerville at the Cary House Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside away from Main Street arequieter as they are away from Main Street traffic. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Return! A new years eve visit to one of my favorite historical hotels. The second time around, was as interesting as the first. As a paranormal investigator, I find the Cary House to be very interesting place to conduct evp’s. The staff is fun and kind. If your ever around the area, you’ll have to try a stay in room 212. Dont forget your recorder! 5 Stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our third time staying at the Cary House. It is a great location, right in the heart of historic Placerville for shopping and dining. The rooms are somewhat dated, but clean and comfortable bed for us...and quiet. We will stay again next time we go to Placerville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Cary House for three nights. The staff were wonderful to us and made us feel quite welcome.The location is within walking distance to several places to eat. Just take note there is no where open in the downtown to eat at 10:00pm. The first night we had a Superior Suite for four of us. It is very small and not really meant for four adults, but it worked for one night. We ended up booking this particular room at the last minute because we added a night to our stay.The following night we had seperate rooms for the two couples. The rooms were nice for the two people. The hotel was clean and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had planned a two-night stay at South Lake Tahoe, but the first major storm of the season blew in a day early, so we fled the mountains for lower elevations. We really like Placerville, so after a late lunch we decided to seek lodging in town. We had walked past the Historic Cary House Hotel on previous visits so we headed there to see if a room was available.

The very friendly clerk offered to show us a couple of queen suites. We followed her and another party through the well-decorated spacious lobby up the stairs to the third floor. We looked at a couple of suites, but decided on what she referred to as the Cowboy Suite! Indeed, it featured rustic pine log furniture, cowboy prints and a lamp with a cowboy theme. What we really loved about the suite was that it had a kitchenette with a fridge for left-overs, lovely light due to windows on two sides, a super comfortable bed with nice linens, a clean bathroom and a view of Main Street.

The price was very good for our two night stay. We got a discount for being auto club members. In addition, the hotel provided coupons for free wine tasting at Synapse...right next door plus discount cards for nearby restaurants. Together with free parking in a city lot, our stay turned out to be a real bargain. The hotel provided coffee, juice and small pastries in the morning and tea and cookies in the afternoon.

People have mentioned the hot water issue and we didn't find that to be a problem on the third floor. We did need to let the water run a bit in the kitchenette sink to warm up, but the shower was fine. Also, the elevator is old and historic and very quaint. I chose to take the stairs, but my husband got a kick out of closing the gate to go up and down. It will only hold two people or one person with luggage, so that needs to be worked into one's luggage maneuvers. Since the hotel provides a loading/unloading zone right at the front doors, that was not a problem.

It was so much fun to stay in the heart of this lovely Gold Country town. We plan to go back very soon and are talking up the hotel to friends who enjoy the area.

Definitely a keeper for us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 10 in Placerville
5.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.