We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Historic Placerville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location for Historic Placerville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our third time staying at the Cary House. It is a great location, right in the heart of historic Placerville for shopping and dining. The rooms are somewhat dated, but clean and comfortable bed for us...and quiet. We will stay again next time we go to Placerville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
60
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moline, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Cary House for three nights. The staff were wonderful to us and made us feel quite welcome.The location is within walking distance to several places to eat. Just take note there is no where open in the downtown to eat at 10:00pm. The first night we had a Superior Suite for four of us. It is very small and not really meant for four adults, but it worked for one night. We ended up booking this particular room at the last minute because we added a night to our stay.The following night we had seperate rooms for the two couples. The rooms were nice for the two people. The hotel was clean and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had planned a two-night stay at South Lake Tahoe, but the first major storm of the season blew in a day early, so we fled the mountains for lower elevations. We really like Placerville, so after a late lunch we decided to seek lodging in town. We had walked past the Historic Cary House Hotel on previous visits so we headed there to see if a room was available.

The very friendly clerk offered to show us a couple of queen suites. We followed her and another party through the well-decorated spacious lobby up the stairs to the third floor. We looked at a couple of suites, but decided on what she referred to as the Cowboy Suite! Indeed, it featured rustic pine log furniture, cowboy prints and a lamp with a cowboy theme. What we really loved about the suite was that it had a kitchenette with a fridge for left-overs, lovely light due to windows on two sides, a super comfortable bed with nice linens, a clean bathroom and a view of Main Street.

The price was very good for our two night stay. We got a discount for being auto club members. In addition, the hotel provided coupons for free wine tasting at Synapse...right next door plus discount cards for nearby restaurants. Together with free parking in a city lot, our stay turned out to be a real bargain. The hotel provided coffee, juice and small pastries in the morning and tea and cookies in the afternoon.

People have mentioned the hot water issue and we didn't find that to be a problem on the third floor. We did need to let the water run a bit in the kitchenette sink to warm up, but the shower was fine. Also, the elevator is old and historic and very quaint. I chose to take the stairs, but my husband got a kick out of closing the gate to go up and down. It will only hold two people or one person with luggage, so that needs to be worked into one's luggage maneuvers. Since the hotel provides a loading/unloading zone right at the front doors, that was not a problem.

It was so much fun to stay in the heart of this lovely Gold Country town. We plan to go back very soon and are talking up the hotel to friends who enjoy the area.

Definitely a keeper for us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We often visit friends in the area. You know, two nights in a corporate, sterile room. This time we decided to try something real, something that has stood the test of time. We were not disappointed. Walking into the lobby we immediately felt warm and welcome. The great artifacts and beautiful stained glass are just part of the attraction. This 150+ year old place is still alive and well! The second-oldest elevator in the west continues to move guests up and down the five-stories (I think five). It was neat to sleep in a place where people like Mark Twain and Levi Strauss once did. Looking out our window toward main street made me imagine old Sourdoughs walking around more than a century ago. If you stay here you can make your own connection with the past.

Our room contained real antique furniture and appointments. Our bed was fine. The room had it's own bathroom and even a kitchenette. It was impeccably clean and appeared remodeled in recent years. There is an updated door lock, 32" flat screen TV, nice linen, in-room coffee. I mean, this room was a great value. Now, it was a bit smaller than you would get at XYZ corporate hotel, but we would definitely stay here again. Easy walking distance to all kinds of breakfast spots and shops. They offer free coffee-plus service and free parking next door. If you visit this historic area this would be a great stay as long as you are the type who appreciates the past. Did I mention free Wi-Fi? What would Mark Twain think of that?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love the location of the Cary House Hotel. It is right on Main Street and when you walk out the door you are in the heart of Placerville. The front desk staff were very helpful. Aside from location and staff - I felt the hotel was a real let down.

We stayed in a king bed, junior suite. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable. There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom and on the wall by the bathtub. The toilet would run continuously unless we took steps to fix it. There was also dust on the lamps in our rooms. Also, the free wi-fi signal was not strong enough to work in our room. You are paying for a lot in comparison to what you get room wise.

With more attention to detail this place could be a real charmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Cary House as we were in town for a friend's family gathering in the area.

In this hotel you are staying for the experience and the sense of history that it engenders. From a mods and cons perspective it doesn't really have many of those. It does have the oldest lift car in the west of the USA (or soemthing like that). However. it is in general a very comfortable experience and we found that we slept very soundly for the few nights we were staying.

The property is right on the main street of Placerville, which in itself is a great little town to explore the main street on foot. Things look and feel like a step back in time, and it adds to the experience of choosing the hotel as well.

We didn't eat at the property as we didn't organise ourselves well enough, although with all of the options at the doorstep this does not present a challenge for the guest.

If you are tossing up the bland brand vs. the experiential hotel, choose this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is so much history around this hotel you could spends an hour in the lobby. We had a pleasant stay in the Yellow Jacket room. It was decorated charming. The hotel location is great. It is so easy to walk up the street to a variety of restaurants. The best place however is the wine tasting next door at Synapse.

Room Tip: Don't forget to read the description of your room. Each floor has a different theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.