We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Touch with History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In Touch with History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We often visit friends in the area. You know, two nights in a corporate, sterile room. This time we decided to try something real, something that has stood the test of time. We were not disappointed. Walking into the lobby we immediately felt warm and welcome. The great artifacts and beautiful stained glass are just part of the attraction. This 150+ year old place is still alive and well! The second-oldest elevator in the west continues to move guests up and down the five-stories (I think five). It was neat to sleep in a place where people like Mark Twain and Levi Strauss once did. Looking out our window toward main street made me imagine old Sourdoughs walking around more than a century ago. If you stay here you can make your own connection with the past.

Our room contained real antique furniture and appointments. Our bed was fine. The room had it's own bathroom and even a kitchenette. It was impeccably clean and appeared remodeled in recent years. There is an updated door lock, 32" flat screen TV, nice linen, in-room coffee. I mean, this room was a great value. Now, it was a bit smaller than you would get at XYZ corporate hotel, but we would definitely stay here again. Easy walking distance to all kinds of breakfast spots and shops. They offer free coffee-plus service and free parking next door. If you visit this historic area this would be a great stay as long as you are the type who appreciates the past. Did I mention free Wi-Fi? What would Mark Twain think of that?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
60
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love the location of the Cary House Hotel. It is right on Main Street and when you walk out the door you are in the heart of Placerville. The front desk staff were very helpful. Aside from location and staff - I felt the hotel was a real let down.

We stayed in a king bed, junior suite. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable. There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom and on the wall by the bathtub. The toilet would run continuously unless we took steps to fix it. There was also dust on the lamps in our rooms. Also, the free wi-fi signal was not strong enough to work in our room. You are paying for a lot in comparison to what you get room wise.

With more attention to detail this place could be a real charmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Cary House as we were in town for a friend's family gathering in the area.

In this hotel you are staying for the experience and the sense of history that it engenders. From a mods and cons perspective it doesn't really have many of those. It does have the oldest lift car in the west of the USA (or soemthing like that). However. it is in general a very comfortable experience and we found that we slept very soundly for the few nights we were staying.

The property is right on the main street of Placerville, which in itself is a great little town to explore the main street on foot. Things look and feel like a step back in time, and it adds to the experience of choosing the hotel as well.

We didn't eat at the property as we didn't organise ourselves well enough, although with all of the options at the doorstep this does not present a challenge for the guest.

If you are tossing up the bland brand vs. the experiential hotel, choose this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is so much history around this hotel you could spends an hour in the lobby. We had a pleasant stay in the Yellow Jacket room. It was decorated charming. The hotel location is great. It is so easy to walk up the street to a variety of restaurants. The best place however is the wine tasting next door at Synapse.

Room Tip: Don't forget to read the description of your room. Each floor has a different theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here and since there were two couples, they put us in a suite to save us money. Since the building is very old the layout was not ideal (having to go through one bedroom to get to the bathroom) but they have done the best they can with the space there is. The day we stayed they had lost electricity for several afternoon hours and it was one of the hottest days of the summer. We were unable to use the elevator to get to our third floor room. When we came to the room after turning on the air conditioning prior to going out to dinner, the third floor room never cooled down. The manager brought us two fans which helped immensely but the sound of those fans caused a really bad night's sleep. The room never cooled down yet no concessions were offered to us for the inability of the cooling system and our inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were in a front room on the 4th floor. Very difficult to get luggage there since only two people or one person and luggage can ride in the elevator at a time. There is no one on duty at the desk after 8, and we had an issue with a hotel guest wondering the halls in his boxers looking for his room. Our phone in our room didn't work and finally had to use a cell phone to call after hours assistance. Our room was very loud from street noise. Avoid a room facing the busy Main Street at all cost. We were awake. At about 3am with the trash truck picking up the dumpster. Even with windows closed it was extremely difficult to sleep. Breakfast was very limited. Not sure we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love historic hotels, and stay at them throughout the American West. We are usually inclined to give them a break when it comes to judging modern amenities or fixtures. But I'm afraid the Cary House needs a wake-up call of its own. For the price (we paid $175 for two people in a king bed room), this is what one gets (the good and the bad):
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Beautiful and historic lobby and fixtures
- Old carpeting throughout the upper floors that is very musty and stretched out 70s stuff
- Small rooms (not a problem except cramped with too-big furniture)
- Cheap (not historic or antique) furniture well past its prime
- Very saggy old beds and tatty sheets and spreads (ours had holes)
- Nice bath, very modern but tasteful — unfortunately dirty (mold around faucet in tub, dirt around cabinets)
- Towels of a vintage and condition I would use to clean my car

Come on Cary House! It does not take a lot to fix these problems. The Weatherford in Flagstaff, Arizona, is far less expensive and far, far nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.