We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy? Yes. Comfy? Well....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Pacifica, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cozy? Yes. Comfy? Well....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You'll see recurring complaints for this hotel for a good reason. There is no hot water in the morning - but chances are good there will be hot water in the evening so plan accordingly. Breakfast is kinda lame: muffins, yogurt, cereal - but you always have the option of going out for breakfast like you would if you were staying at a road motel for about the same price. The walls are paper thin - seriously. Thin. I happen to travel with ear plugs. The bed was WAY to soft for me to be comfortable.

However, the hotel is charming in an old rustic way and perfectly located for walking around town. Free parking. The staff was friendly and our room and bathroom were clean - every thing in working order. I didn't mind mis-matched old furniture or the doilies and calico print wall paper...lends to the theme and charm of the place. Personally I'd rather stay someplace like this, with a little personality quirky as it might be, than a sterile, cloned motel room. If I could be guaranteed a firmer mattress, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
60
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tahoma, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You definitely get the feeling you're going back in time while in the Cary House because of the furnishings and overall interior design. You really get the feeling of going back in time when you walk into your bathroom and read a very small sign that says wait up to 10 minutes for the hot water to get to your room. You're suppose to simply leave it running for that period of time! NEVER GOT THE HOT WATER! If this only applies to level 4, then don't book a room on level 4! The air conditioning didn't work either! We really could have used hot water and A/C. For the price of the room especially, I would have expected at least the standard. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly. You can get that stuff at Motel 6. The location is awesome. I'll give the Cary House that.

Room Tip: I'm assuming that if you book a room on the first floor you'll get a warm to hot shower! I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Could be nice but run down!!! For the cost I expected a bed that did not match the age of the hotel. There are other great B&Bs in town. The lobby looks great and then you hit the hallway. They use the word suite..... A chair in the room does not count as a suite.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the stay at Cary House sitting right in the center of Placerville. There was a trifle much lace in my room and a hint of mustiness in the air, but probably to be expected from a historic hotel dating back to Gold Rush times. Lace notwithstanding, the room, opening on to a second story porch, was clean, wifi was available, and a humble breakfast included. Quite a deal at ~$100/ night. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. There are good, convenient restaurants at various prices within a short walk and Cary House is within a convenient drive of Amador wine country.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed here numerous times while we were waiting to close on our home here. I was flying between here and Hawaii every few weeks. This is a great place to stay, although I never did see any ghosts!! Not too impressed with the included continental breakfast, but was usually up and out of the hotel before they were ready to serve. Besides there are plenty of great places on Main Street to grab a great breakfast. The Hotel is not swank and full of five star options. It is clean, neat, and the staff are friendly, and helpful. If we did not live here now, we would definitely stay there again...it's history is fascinating

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms away from the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This historic hotel combines a feeling of the mid-1800s California gold rush with all the comforts of a modern facility. While the building shows its age, the rooms are very comfortable. Decor includes a number of interesting artifacts from the Gold Rush days. An interior courtyard provides a nice place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. The hotel is located right in the middle of historic Placerville with other historic building within easy walking distance. We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Cary House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I just returned from a week long trip through the gold country. I had read many reviews about the Historic Cary House prior to booking it. I think I envisioned something a little different from what I experienced. This place could be AMAZING. Instead, it's slightly run down, slightly unloved and half way modernized. The room was fine overall, a bit musty, a little ragged on the edges. The staff at the front desk was very prompt in bringing up 2 roll aways for my kids and we were able to comfortable fit 4 people in the room. I have to be honest, I barely slept a wink. The rooms have very thin walls and I was able to hear everything from the room next door and the hallway. That combined with the haunted hotel aspect, it made for a dreadful night sleep that I admit to was all on me, not the bed! All in all, it's a sweet hotel, in a sweet town that all could be so much more with a little TLC. It did completely freak me out that they lock the doors and do not have any staff on the premises after 10. I felt a little, hmmm... off about that. I very HIGHLY recommend the Heyday Cafe right down the street. What a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.