We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cary Scary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Cary House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Historic Cary House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Cary House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Placerville
Atwater, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cary Scary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I never know what to expect when a Hotel describes itself as being haunted. After spending a couple of days in room 212, I got to say I was impressed. Nothing reached out and grabbed me, but by K2 and some other instruments were off the charts. A few EVP’s as well. Service was great. Staff was friendly and the surrounding area was beautiful. Will diffidently have to revisit this one!

Room Tip: Room 212 seems to be the one with the most activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    18
    17
    11
See reviews for
33
54
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is an unusual hotel, but it has a lot of character, as does the little town of Placerville. I stayed there for a couple of nights recently and enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the feeling of history behind it. My room was on the first (second) floor and as I'd asked for a quiet room I got one overlooking the interior courtyard. I think that they could probably trim back the vegetation over the windows though as the rooms were very dark. It would probably be better to try a room on a higher floor as it might be a little lighter. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable but there wasn't much room around it. There was a very small lounge/kitchenette which was great and a very adequate bathroom with all toiletries provided. The biggest downside was that the aircon didn't work and obviously neither did the heating, as I discovered when I returned to my room to find a plug in electric heater sitting outside the door in the hallway! Complimentary breakfast is included in the room rate but since I didn't try this I can't comment on the food at the hotel, but there is a restaurant right across the road for dinner. The town of Placerville is amazing to stay in on Halloween, because all the stores give away free candy and literally hundreds of people come into town.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I agree with other reviewers; it is important to remember this hotel was built in the mid-1800's. It was dark in the lobby and not very appealing to enter. The hotel faced the main street of Placerville, and during the day, had a lot of street noise. We would suggest a room in the back of the hotel and on an upper floor. We used this advice to get a thrid floor room in the back. To get to the room, you have to use the 'second oldest elevator west of the Mississippi River' (their words!) to get there. Only 2 people (without luggage--again, their words!) or one person with luggage can get into the elevator. The elevator often arrived at our requested floor several inches above or below that floor level, so you had to step up or down into the elevator. If you have any mobility problems (wheelchair, cane, crutches), you might want to reconsider your choice of rooms/floors or even hotel! The hotel smelled old and musty and needed a thorough cleaning top to bottom! Our room was small, small, small. No chair; and no space for one in the room. You sat on the bed for everything. A small table held the TV and that was all it had room for. The black mini-blinds afforded little light into the room. A window opened for ventilation allowed all the alley noise (drunken people cursing all night long) into the room. Since the alley came up to the level of the 2nd floor, the offenders were just 1 story below our window. When we asked them to leave, we got a torrent of foul language! (We should have called the police!) The bathroom was barely adequate. No room to set anything, except on the back of the toilet. A 3 inch leggy insect (centipede, milipede, or whatever) greeted us in the bathroom sink basin the next morning. A short wrestling match with it, and we were on with our showering and bathroom duties! Breakfast was in a small room at the back of the hotel that was at the end of a dark hallway. Breakfast was toaster waffles, some fruits, yoghurt, and juice. Nothing to write home about. The male front desk clerk seemed happy to tell us the history of the hotel, but never inquired about our stay or the breakfast that was presented to us. WE WOULD NOT RECOMMMEND STAYING AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Search for another hotel. This one is counting on their historic past to lure you in. You will not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I think it is important to remember that this hotel was built in 1857. While there are many upgrades it still is a historical building and has some issues as a result. I like the quirks and uniqueness. We stayed in room 211 for two nights and loved it! The furniture is vintage and eclectic. The king suite only cost $80 a night thanks to an email special - GREAT VALUE! I booked of the phone and received wonderful customer service. Check in was very good with an attentive front desk clerk. So, if you want to stay in a piece of history this is the place for you. If you want a perfect modern hotel - stay someplace else. We have stayed multiple time and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side. I think the rooms on floors 3 & 4 are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Room 211-1 night-10/20/2011.
Gave our room away & tried to charge us for the deluxe king suite that we didn't get.
TVs are 15 years old, small, & the color is poor.
2 people can be in the elevator.
No toiletries except 1 towel & a bar of soap.
Basic cable, so nothing to keep my four year old entertained.
The love seat is filthy.
The roll away cot is all lumps.
The king bed is really "California" king so its too narrow.
Deadbolt doesn't work.
Staff is incompetent & apathetic to the errors they made. Not 1 apology from the only staff member we saw. She worked the front desk & would not give us the owner’s contact info.
Chandeliers in the lobby & suite are covered in dust & cobwebs.
Costs over $100 for 1 “weeknight” in a cold/dirty suite.
Heating's broken. We had to use the burners in the kitchenette.
Room door sticks, so my husband had to use his body weight to force it open/shut.
Continental breakfast is a joke of junk food, bad coffee, sour orange juice, fruit loops & frozen pancakes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We like historic hotels like the Cary House. The rooms are really old fashioned but comfortable. The continental breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Cary House for a wedding weekend and loved our stay in Placerville. The hotel is quaint yet well cared for. The location is wonderful - cute town with lots of restaurants and stores close by. Continental breakfast is okay.

Room Tip: Suites are wonderful... 2 rooms with refrigerator and stove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Cary House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.