We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at this lovely historic B&B was memorable and we hope to stay again soon. Rita greeted us at the door and from that moment, we felt right at home. After offering us a nice bottle of local wine, it was a quick walk into town for dinner. Afterwards, a nice relaxing swing in the side yard proved to be just what we needed after our day's driving. Breakfast was outstanding and started the day off perfectly. Thank you Rita, Stephanie and little Lilly (you are such a good doggie!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Kevin, thanks for the kind words. We enjoyed chatting with you and Monty. It was our pleasure to have you stay and know that you are welcome anytime. Come again and enjoy our beautiful El Dorado County!
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our overnight stay in this historic B & B will be a treasured memory. I have always wanted to stay in a century home but worried about the amenities. Our room was clean and cozy with beautiful old furniture and excellent bedding. Our innkeeper, Ruth, checked us in quickly as she could see that we needed a shower and nap after arriving on our motorcycle in the hot afternoon. Breakfast was lovely!!!!

Room Tip: The king suite was awesome on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for your thoughtful words! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back to beautiful El Dorado County any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a most relaxing visit. Really felt at home and comfortable for the first time after more than a week in various SFO area hotels and in Yosemite lodges. Bed very comfortable, especially enjoyed the B&B microsoft fiber sheets. Short walk to several nice restaurants. We tried the Italian Restaurant close by tat Stephanie recommended, and had a great meal. Highly recommended overall for a good travel experience..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! I enjoyed chatting with you and wished you were staying a few more nights with us. Hope to see you the next time you visit beautiful El Dorado County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great place to relax and unwind - and Stephanie and Rita know the town... so no matter what you might want to do, they can give you the insider recommendations. Breakfast was outstanding - beautifully presented, delicious, and far better than most. What a treat!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed staying with us. Thanks for the kind words. Please consider visiting us and beautiful El Dorado County again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We love the feeling of home in this B&B. Rita and Stephanie are gracious hosts and have taken all a traveler's needs into consideration in planning the experience. The breakfasts are creative and delicious. The music, wine and relaxed atmosphere are a welcoming surprise. This is one B&B where we actually felt like sitting in the parlor and unwinding. Of course, Placerville has a delightful main street to top off the visit and Apple Hill, with it great orchards and wineries, is right next door!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this B&B expecting it to be similar to those we'd stayed in elsewhere in US - pleasant quirky Victorian legacies - and Placerville was recommended as a good place to stop between Tahoe & SF.

Wine on arrival had clearly evaporated before we got there! Otherwise house was as expected. Room and bed were comfortable although there was some noise from traffic junction outside (earplugs provided, but not really needed). Breakfast was fixed as 9am, a bit later than we might have preferred, but it was not presented as negotiable. We were served breakfast but it would have been nice to have been given a choice of what we wanted rather than just have food presented at the table - not everyone likes melted cheese. Overall we didn't feel this place was really preferable to the $60 budget hotel we'd used the previous night (nor on a par with $140 places we've also used on this trip).

Placerville itself was indeed attractive with several good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are sorry your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Wine is provided between 4 & 7 which is check in time. Breakfast is served at 9 as requested by most guests. If you needed to to be served earlier perhaps we could have done that for you if you had requested it. Please understand that this is a very small B&B, there is one person here to cook and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We do thank you for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B and again, are sorry it didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. We have stayed at quite a few Bed and Breakfast, and this is one of our favorites. It has a very welcoming and warm atmosphere in nice victorian style home. The sheets are suppppper soft. It is in a 5 minute walking distance to the little main street that is filled with great little shops and restaurants. Breakfast here is sooooo wonderful. lilly the pup and super sweet. My husband loved the Boeger wine. We loved hanging out with Rita and Steph so much at Rainbow Orchard and Para Vi, which is my favorite. Thank you Thank you Thank you for such an enjoyable visit. Definitely already planning our next trip to see Rita and Steph again. Love Y'all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1902 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast in Placerville, CA just an hour to Sacramento or Lake Tahoe and steps from historic Placerville Main St. All rooms with private baths and breakfast. In the heart of California Gold Country, Historic Placerville, CA, this lovely Queen Ann Victorian Bed and Breakfast is the perfect setting for your El Dorado County escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.