We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere - Wonderful breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
South Lake Tahoe
1 review
“Relaxing atmosphere - Wonderful breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great place to relax and unwind - and Stephanie and Rita know the town... so no matter what you might want to do, they can give you the insider recommendations. Breakfast was outstanding - beautifully presented, delicious, and far better than most. What a treat!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed staying with us. Thanks for the kind words. Please consider visiting us and beautiful El Dorado County again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We love the feeling of home in this B&B. Rita and Stephanie are gracious hosts and have taken all a traveler's needs into consideration in planning the experience. The breakfasts are creative and delicious. The music, wine and relaxed atmosphere are a welcoming surprise. This is one B&B where we actually felt like sitting in the parlor and unwinding. Of course, Placerville has a delightful main street to top off the visit and Apple Hill, with it great orchards and wineries, is right next door!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this B&B expecting it to be similar to those we'd stayed in elsewhere in US - pleasant quirky Victorian legacies - and Placerville was recommended as a good place to stop between Tahoe & SF.

Wine on arrival had clearly evaporated before we got there! Otherwise house was as expected. Room and bed were comfortable although there was some noise from traffic junction outside (earplugs provided, but not really needed). Breakfast was fixed as 9am, a bit later than we might have preferred, but it was not presented as negotiable. We were served breakfast but it would have been nice to have been given a choice of what we wanted rather than just have food presented at the table - not everyone likes melted cheese. Overall we didn't feel this place was really preferable to the $60 budget hotel we'd used the previous night (nor on a par with $140 places we've also used on this trip).

Placerville itself was indeed attractive with several good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are sorry your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Wine is provided between 4 & 7 which is check in time. Breakfast is served at 9 as requested by most guests. If you needed to to be served earlier perhaps we could have done that for you if you had requested it. Please understand that this is a very small B&B, there is one person here to cook and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We do thank you for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B and again, are sorry it didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. We have stayed at quite a few Bed and Breakfast, and this is one of our favorites. It has a very welcoming and warm atmosphere in nice victorian style home. The sheets are suppppper soft. It is in a 5 minute walking distance to the little main street that is filled with great little shops and restaurants. Breakfast here is sooooo wonderful. lilly the pup and super sweet. My husband loved the Boeger wine. We loved hanging out with Rita and Steph so much at Rainbow Orchard and Para Vi, which is my favorite. Thank you Thank you Thank you for such an enjoyable visit. Definitely already planning our next trip to see Rita and Steph again. Love Y'all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I spent part of Labor Day weekend at the Albert Shafsky B&B in Placerville, CA. Rita and Jennifer, the owners of the B&B couldn't have been more gracious. We came to visit friends who live in the area and picked out this property through the internet. Our booking was made through Expedia.com.

It was an excellent choice all around. The inn is located near some excellent wineries, the room was clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Good air conditioning plus a quiet, overhead fan which is nowadays is hard to find. After being greeted with a glass of local wine when we checked in we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast the following morning. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Jim Brown and Abby Everson
Richmond, CA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Stephanie and I appreciate your kind words. Thanks again for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B for your stay in beautiful El Dorado County, specifically Placerville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once we walked in and were greeted by RIta, we were impessed with the peaceful, quiet music playing, the absence of television, and the bottle of wine waiting in the parlor. Oh yes, just "r-e-l-a-x", slow down a bit, let the world go rushing by all around you; it won't find you here in this cocoon of coziness. Just sit yourself down in that marvelous sofa, look around at the intricate wood floor detailing, take in the thick, rich decorative door trim everywhere, admire the seasonal decorating Rita does, and pour yourself a glass of the local red wine while you admire all the period detailing.

Our room was on the first floor (it's the only one on the first floor), located adjacent to the parlor, and our room certainly was spacious enough for the both of us. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed ourselves there. The traffic noise reminded us these old majestic homes were located in town and, well, that is where the traffic was then in the early 1900's and, no surprise, it's where it still is. The ear plugs didn't help too much but the bed more than made up for it as we slept in a little later than usual.

Rita serves her gourmet breakfasts at 9 a.m. around a lovely dining room table that will seat all 6 guests in her 3 rooms. Great way to chat with your new friends about where they have been and what they recommend for activities. Would recommend the 9 mile walk around the Jekinson Lake (a short ride away) for a nice day's trip. Great walking trails, and it is free if you park outside the gate which is good because you won't have a boat to launch so save yourself $10 to drive inside the gate.

Room Tip: Road noise from highway 49 can be heard on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! I love being an Innkeeper mainly because of all the wonderful people we meet. Glad you enjoyed beautiful El Dorado County. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I had a blast staying at the Albert Shafsky House this weekend! We couldn't say enough good things about it. The breakfasts that Rita cooked were amazing and the garden was peaceful to sit in and enjoy in the evening and morning hours. Rita and Stephanie were VERY hospitable and it felt like they were old friends we were staying with. It was nice to chat and laugh with them. We also cant forget about the resident doggie, Lily, she was a sweet and precious girl! Thank you again for everything and we can't wait to come and visit again! Five star service, for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your many kind words! We enjoy our guests and try our best to make their stay "a time to remember". Please come and visit beautiful El Dorado County again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1902 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast in Placerville, CA just an hour to Sacramento or Lake Tahoe and steps from historic Placerville Main St. All rooms with private baths and breakfast. In the heart of California Gold Country, Historic Placerville, CA, this lovely Queen Ann Victorian Bed and Breakfast is the perfect setting for your El Dorado County escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.