We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Lincoln, California
1 review
“Love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We love the feeling of home in this B&B. Rita and Stephanie are gracious hosts and have taken all a traveler's needs into consideration in planning the experience. The breakfasts are creative and delicious. The music, wine and relaxed atmosphere are a welcoming surprise. This is one B&B where we actually felt like sitting in the parlor and unwinding. Of course, Placerville has a delightful main street to top off the visit and Apple Hill, with it great orchards and wineries, is right next door!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIDLANDS UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this B&B expecting it to be similar to those we'd stayed in elsewhere in US - pleasant quirky Victorian legacies - and Placerville was recommended as a good place to stop between Tahoe & SF.

Wine on arrival had clearly evaporated before we got there! Otherwise house was as expected. Room and bed were comfortable although there was some noise from traffic junction outside (earplugs provided, but not really needed). Breakfast was fixed as 9am, a bit later than we might have preferred, but it was not presented as negotiable. We were served breakfast but it would have been nice to have been given a choice of what we wanted rather than just have food presented at the table - not everyone likes melted cheese. Overall we didn't feel this place was really preferable to the $60 budget hotel we'd used the previous night (nor on a par with $140 places we've also used on this trip).

Placerville itself was indeed attractive with several good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafsky, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are sorry your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Wine is provided between 4 & 7 which is check in time. Breakfast is served at 9 as requested by most guests. If you needed to to be served earlier perhaps we could have done that for you if you had requested it. Please understand that this is a very small B&B, there is one person here to cook and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We do thank you for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B and again, are sorry it didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay. We have stayed at quite a few Bed and Breakfast, and this is one of our favorites. It has a very welcoming and warm atmosphere in nice victorian style home. The sheets are suppppper soft. It is in a 5 minute walking distance to the little main street that is filled with great little shops and restaurants. Breakfast here is sooooo wonderful. lilly the pup and super sweet. My husband loved the Boeger wine. We loved hanging out with Rita and Steph so much at Rainbow Orchard and Para Vi, which is my favorite. Thank you Thank you Thank you for such an enjoyable visit. Definitely already planning our next trip to see Rita and Steph again. Love Y'all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I spent part of Labor Day weekend at the Albert Shafsky B&B in Placerville, CA. Rita and Jennifer, the owners of the B&B couldn't have been more gracious. We came to visit friends who live in the area and picked out this property through the internet. Our booking was made through Expedia.com.

It was an excellent choice all around. The inn is located near some excellent wineries, the room was clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Good air conditioning plus a quiet, overhead fan which is nowadays is hard to find. After being greeted with a glass of local wine when we checked in we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast the following morning. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Jim Brown and Abby Everson
Richmond, CA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Stephanie and I appreciate your kind words. Thanks again for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B for your stay in beautiful El Dorado County, specifically Placerville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once we walked in and were greeted by RIta, we were impessed with the peaceful, quiet music playing, the absence of television, and the bottle of wine waiting in the parlor. Oh yes, just "r-e-l-a-x", slow down a bit, let the world go rushing by all around you; it won't find you here in this cocoon of coziness. Just sit yourself down in that marvelous sofa, look around at the intricate wood floor detailing, take in the thick, rich decorative door trim everywhere, admire the seasonal decorating Rita does, and pour yourself a glass of the local red wine while you admire all the period detailing.

Our room was on the first floor (it's the only one on the first floor), located adjacent to the parlor, and our room certainly was spacious enough for the both of us. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed ourselves there. The traffic noise reminded us these old majestic homes were located in town and, well, that is where the traffic was then in the early 1900's and, no surprise, it's where it still is. The ear plugs didn't help too much but the bed more than made up for it as we slept in a little later than usual.

Rita serves her gourmet breakfasts at 9 a.m. around a lovely dining room table that will seat all 6 guests in her 3 rooms. Great way to chat with your new friends about where they have been and what they recommend for activities. Would recommend the 9 mile walk around the Jekinson Lake (a short ride away) for a nice day's trip. Great walking trails, and it is free if you park outside the gate which is good because you won't have a boat to launch so save yourself $10 to drive inside the gate.

Room Tip: Road noise from highway 49 can be heard on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! I love being an Innkeeper mainly because of all the wonderful people we meet. Glad you enjoyed beautiful El Dorado County. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I had a blast staying at the Albert Shafsky House this weekend! We couldn't say enough good things about it. The breakfasts that Rita cooked were amazing and the garden was peaceful to sit in and enjoy in the evening and morning hours. Rita and Stephanie were VERY hospitable and it felt like they were old friends we were staying with. It was nice to chat and laugh with them. We also cant forget about the resident doggie, Lily, she was a sweet and precious girl! Thank you again for everything and we can't wait to come and visit again! Five star service, for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your many kind words! We enjoy our guests and try our best to make their stay "a time to remember". Please come and visit beautiful El Dorado County again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just go home from a wonderful two night stay at the Shafsky House B&B. Rita was a gracious host, who cooked a couple tasty breakfasts for us. She was very friendly and truly seemed to enjoy our varied conversations. She had the right personality to run a B&B. Loved the locally produced Barbera that was always out in the living room. She was very considerate to keep her dog away from the common areas, since I am allergic to it. The house was tastefully decorated and a short walk from Main Street. Thanks again Rita for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will return for more yummy breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1902 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast in Placerville, CA just an hour to Sacramento or Lake Tahoe and steps from historic Placerville Main St. All rooms with private baths and breakfast. In the heart of California Gold Country, Historic Placerville, CA, this lovely Queen Ann Victorian Bed and Breakfast is the perfect setting for your El Dorado County escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.