We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Placerville, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Weekend in Placerville, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I spent part of Labor Day weekend at the Albert Shafsky B&B in Placerville, CA. Rita and Jennifer, the owners of the B&B couldn't have been more gracious. We came to visit friends who live in the area and picked out this property through the internet. Our booking was made through Expedia.com.

It was an excellent choice all around. The inn is located near some excellent wineries, the room was clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Good air conditioning plus a quiet, overhead fan which is nowadays is hard to find. After being greeted with a glass of local wine when we checked in we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast the following morning. All in all, a wonderful experience!

Jim Brown and Abby Everson
Richmond, CA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Stephanie and I appreciate your kind words. Thanks again for choosing the Albert Shafsky House B&B for your stay in beautiful El Dorado County, specifically Placerville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Once we walked in and were greeted by RIta, we were impessed with the peaceful, quiet music playing, the absence of television, and the bottle of wine waiting in the parlor. Oh yes, just "r-e-l-a-x", slow down a bit, let the world go rushing by all around you; it won't find you here in this cocoon of coziness. Just sit yourself down in that marvelous sofa, look around at the intricate wood floor detailing, take in the thick, rich decorative door trim everywhere, admire the seasonal decorating Rita does, and pour yourself a glass of the local red wine while you admire all the period detailing.

Our room was on the first floor (it's the only one on the first floor), located adjacent to the parlor, and our room certainly was spacious enough for the both of us. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed ourselves there. The traffic noise reminded us these old majestic homes were located in town and, well, that is where the traffic was then in the early 1900's and, no surprise, it's where it still is. The ear plugs didn't help too much but the bed more than made up for it as we slept in a little later than usual.

Rita serves her gourmet breakfasts at 9 a.m. around a lovely dining room table that will seat all 6 guests in her 3 rooms. Great way to chat with your new friends about where they have been and what they recommend for activities. Would recommend the 9 mile walk around the Jekinson Lake (a short ride away) for a nice day's trip. Great walking trails, and it is free if you park outside the gate which is good because you won't have a boat to launch so save yourself $10 to drive inside the gate.

Room Tip: Road noise from highway 49 can be heard on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! I love being an Innkeeper mainly because of all the wonderful people we meet. Glad you enjoyed beautiful El Dorado County. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I had a blast staying at the Albert Shafsky House this weekend! We couldn't say enough good things about it. The breakfasts that Rita cooked were amazing and the garden was peaceful to sit in and enjoy in the evening and morning hours. Rita and Stephanie were VERY hospitable and it felt like they were old friends we were staying with. It was nice to chat and laugh with them. We also cant forget about the resident doggie, Lily, she was a sweet and precious girl! Thank you again for everything and we can't wait to come and visit again! Five star service, for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your many kind words! We enjoy our guests and try our best to make their stay "a time to remember". Please come and visit beautiful El Dorado County again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just go home from a wonderful two night stay at the Shafsky House B&B. Rita was a gracious host, who cooked a couple tasty breakfasts for us. She was very friendly and truly seemed to enjoy our varied conversations. She had the right personality to run a B&B. Loved the locally produced Barbera that was always out in the living room. She was very considerate to keep her dog away from the common areas, since I am allergic to it. The house was tastefully decorated and a short walk from Main Street. Thanks again Rita for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Owner at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will return for more yummy breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at Albert Shafsky House. We had Alberta's Attic which is a glorious step back in time. A beautiful 2 room suite furnished with love. From the beautiful, and oh so comfortable four poster bed, to the delightful reclining chairs, as well as personal memorabilia from the owner's, we felt like pampered guests. Rita is an absolute natural in her role as innkeeper. Her breakfasts were scrumptious.
There is lots to do in the area. We spent our days enjoying the local wineries. We also had two excellent dinners on Main Street of this lovely quaint town.
We will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert H, Manager at Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful words! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband of 23 years snuck away from 3 teenage boys for some r&r. The town is wonderful. Shopping has a variety of treasures to explore. Came specifically to revisit Winterhill and purchase their fine and absolutely delicious olive oils. The B&B is walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The B&B was just as promised on the website. The bed was very comforable and the place very welcoming and cozy. Lots of pride in the care and cleanliness. They we're able to accommodate my dietary needs for breakfast without batting an eye. The food was delicious and creative. I would most definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a gem in the B&B world. We loved our stay and the owners are so personable. Placerville is a fun town with great outdoor activities and restaurants. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2942 Coloma St, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1902 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast in Placerville, CA just an hour to Sacramento or Lake Tahoe and steps from historic Placerville Main St. All rooms with private baths and breakfast. In the heart of California Gold Country, Historic Placerville, CA, this lovely Queen Ann Victorian Bed and Breakfast is the perfect setting for your El Dorado County escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.