We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National 9 Inn

Save Saved
You added National 9 Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
National 9 Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1500 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Placerville
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came here to stay for the Apple Hill festival they have every year. This place is buzzing just after Labor Day at all the Apple Farms in the area. You can get some very good Apple "products" like Apple turnovers, pie, and other various forms of Apple pastries. We have a few farms we are sure to visit, and this place seems to central to all the happenings at the farms. The people are very friendly, and the surrounding country is just beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room to avoid having to carry things up to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
21
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There is little to write about the National 9, positive or negative. It is what you would imagine a roadside motel to be.

That said, while not everything was perfect, it was acceptable and for a low price, that's what one can expect.

The beds were comfortable and the shower powerful. Cleaning regime was ok, but not what one might expect from a larger chain. The decor/room condition was patchy in places (lose bathroom floor tile, somewhat broken door lock, blown light bulb over sink) as was the wi-fi connection. The staff we encountered were generally friendly.

Placerville is a small place, but has plenty of option in terms of dining which are within relatively easy reach of the hotel.

Would I return? If the price were right, I probably would. Manage your expectations and you'll probably be fine!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had to cancel my reservation the day before. I went to the motel to do this. Was greeted by an extremely rude woman. I said I needed to cancel my reservation. She said do you realize you are cancelling the day before? I said yes. She said well there is going to be a charge for that, we have a business to run here. I told her that I was not aware of the time to cancel nor was I told about it when I called the motel directly. I then told her that I stay at the motel often and that I would not return, she said "that's fine with me". She said she would cancel my room, not sure if she did or not. As I turned to leave, she started running her mouth again, I just told her to shut up and walked out

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got a super low price on Priceline and admittedly our expectations were low. But I am happy to say we were pleasantly surprised. Check in was easy and friendly. The clerk had no problem accommodating our request for a downstairs room or giving us extra pillows. The room was non smoking and did not smell like smoke at all, just fresh and clean but without an air freshner or bleach/cleaner cover up stench. The room may have been refurbished within the last few years or so as the furniture and bedspread looked pretty new and the super cute curtains and rod were new looking as well. The bathroom had nice new marble tile and fixtures. My only complaint there is that pretty tile feels like sheet of ice in the middle of the night, numbingly cold. The tv was a decent size with remote and cable with a guide channel. Also included was a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. All of them were super clean and worked perfectly. The bedding was perfectly clean and fresh without feeling and smelling like overbleached cardboard. The free wifi was easy to access with the password given to me upon check in, do not use the one printed in their tourist binder in the room as they change it often I guess. The heat works very well. We had it on for only an hour and the room got so hot we kept it off all night and it stayed warm until close to dawn.

There were a few negatives unfortunately. The road noise is no joke. If you are a light sleeper make sure to request an upstairs room away from the noise. Luckily we aren't light sleepers. Also this is an old motel so even when someone is walking normally in the room above it will sound like a small elephant. The bed is very very firm, not much give to it at all and we did a lot of tossing and turning because getting comfy never really happened. The pillows were very old and thin, where 2 of them is too high but one is not enough. We both woke up with sore necks and hip bones. The continental breakfast was Oj, coffee, some fruit and packaged Danish which was perfectly fine for us and weren't expecting a hot buffet.

My huge pet peeve was the checkout process. The desk was not staffed and you just drop your key in a basket and leave. This works fine for places with electronic keys. But this place uses normal locks and the keys are labeled with the room number on the keychain. What's to stop another guest or some random stranger from grabbing another key, cleaning the place out and leaving the original completely clueless guest liable for it all? I would like to see the desk staffed to allow in person checkout.

Overall, it's a cheap but super clean room in a convenient location and we would probably stay here again if we're still on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room away from the road. Use a travel site to score a room for half what the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good value for money. Beds are fine, free wifi and coffee (and some bananas ?)
Great hospitality and i would definitely recommend this place to family and friends.
I stayed here during a trip from San Francisco to Lake Tahoe after visiting Napa Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were looking for a budget motel in Placerville and this "fit the bill" for us. We were greeted by Kavita, a soon-to-be mother, who was the manager and was friendly and accomodating. We had hoped for a budget price and found that it was under $60. The room was basic and clean with a comfortable bed. We enjoyed our stay and felt we had "struck it rich" during our vacation up historic Hwy 49 and the old gold mining towns.

Room Tip: We found the ground level to be convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I used trip advisor to decide between National 9 Inn and Best Western in Placerville and was very disappointed I chose National 9 Inn. We paid almost $100. per night and stayed 2 nights. It was not worth that. Every other hotel we stayed in on our week in California cost much less and had much more. The breakfast was sad and the towels were thin. On the positive side the staff was very nice and helpful, but again not worth $100.00 per night. I definitely would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National 9 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn

Address: 1500 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Story Stucco Building. Located in the heart of Apple Hill. Rooms come equipped with Microwaves, REfrigerators,CoffeeMakers, Alarm Clocks,HairDryers, Irons/IroningBoards. Continental Breakfast Served in the office. Full Cable Tv with HBO. All rooms are air conditioned. Free Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your National 9 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Placerville
National 9 Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National 9 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.