We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Levee

The Levee
451 Main St Ste 8, Located in Creekside Place, Placerville, CA 95667
+1 530-642-8669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 106 Restaurants in Placerville
Price range: $14 - $25
Description: Small, intimate restaurant located down the walk-way in Creekside Place. Placerville creek runs right under the restaurant. You can dine creekside on our deck. Owner, Sonya, is from Louisiana. She has brought her family recipes to the table for you to enjoy. All food is bought fresh, never frozen, made to order, made from scratch from the time you place your order. Please allow us 25-30 min to prepare your meal. We feature local wines from Amador and El Dorado counties. We sell 2 beers on tap from California's smallest brewery, Placerville Beerworks. We have live acoustic music on Fridays at 7:30pm
Restaurant details
Description: Small, intimate restaurant located down the walk-way in Creekside Place. Placerville creek runs right under the restaurant. You can dine creekside on our deck. Owner, Sonya, is from Louisiana. She has brought her family recipes to the table for you to enjoy. All food is bought fresh, never frozen, made to order, made from scratch from the time you place your order. Please allow us 25-30 min to prepare your meal. We feature local wines from Amador and El Dorado counties. We sell 2 beers on tap from California's smallest brewery, Placerville Beerworks. We have live acoustic music on Fridays at 7:30pm
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in Placerville for dinner tonight and was delighted to find outdoor seating at The Levee. We were able to bring our dog to the lovely creek side setting and enjoyed a good meal. The staff was all very attentive and friendly and the Cajun selections were very tasty. Jambalaya pasta and a blackened salmon that they prepared without the spices for my wife who is sensitive to "spicy". Great dessert selections as we'll, we shared a lemon creme brûlée. Great atmosphere and good prices.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a new place in Placerville, and is in a lovely courtyard right along a year round creek in downtown Placerville. Sonja is the owner and she is from Louisiana, and she brings her Louisiana flare to the menu. We thoroughly enjoyed several entrees including an excellent read beans and rice. I had the mussels and was overwhelmed with the portion size probably 18 - 20 mussels on a nice bed of angel hair pasta. Service is good, although it would be nice to tone down the country feel and provide a little more professional service atmosphere. Be that as it may this restaurant is on it's way to becoming one of our regular places for an excellent dinner out.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cajun Flare seems out of character for Placerville but don't knock it until you try it. The food and service were excellent. They have live music on Friday and Sat night and I found it to be too intrusive since the place is so small, it was hard to carry on a conversation. The food was excellent and there are lots of great choices on their menu so I will be back to try some of their menu items. The one negative: I did not appreciate the $1.50 fee for the suggested blue cheese crumbles on my dinner salad. Overall this is a great addition to Downtown Placerville choices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food is amazing in this place! We started with the french onion soup, which Sonia, the owner, spent two days preparing. It was the best french onion soup, salty, but not too salty, filled with onions and New Orleans Holy Trinity topped with a baguette slice covered in melted cheese. Then my dad had the special which was orange salmon. That was flaky and covered in a sweet, tangy orange marmlade glaze. I got the blackend catfish covered in a cream sauce with baby shrimp and scallops, every thing there was cooked to perfection and flavored beautifully. A bit of spice in there too.
Even more important than the food was the service. Sonia greeted us at the door with a smile and that smile never left her, even though 3 people had called out sick so it was just her and her daughter Brandi working. They were both amazing and attentive, making the experience the best it could be! The Levee is a must stop eateree in Placerville!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DantheMan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Are you kidding? This little gem is amazing! I had a glass of Fiddletown- Zinfandel for $7.00 a glass, outstanding . I had a signature blackened catfish with sauce, asparagus, julienne carrots, and seasoned rice for $19.00 , superb ! My son had pasta Jambalaya, which he loved. Quite unfortunately, we had zero room for the amazing desserts. The owner Sonya was such a delight. I can't wait to go back. Wow !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Levee also viewed

Placerville, CA
Placerville, CA
 

Been to The Levee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Levee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.