We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tijuana Taqueria

Tijuana Taqueria
1762 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-6017
530-622-9517
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Rescue, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Local mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I think the food here is a little better than your average local mexican food but not enough to rate it as a very good restaurant. The restaurant has grown from a very small take out only spot to a medium size restaurant, lots of locals like it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“locals thrive on their takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

When I don't want to cook this is where I call. Authentic Mexican food that is ready when I arrive. Predictable, uniform, and no surprises.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It is so good! The place is soso but the food is worth it! Get take out!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“Totally 5 Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a bit out of the way, but well WELL worth it!
The food is excellent.. the carnitas are some of the best I have had ANYWHERE! However, what really makes this place extra special is the folks who work here. They are the reason I will keep coming back.. again and again!
AWESOME! Thank you for lunch!!! We will be back again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“One word ~ CARNITAS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Don't let the look of this place fool you. The food is fantastic and we would go back for that reason alone but even better was the super friendly service. Great prices too!
I had the carnitas and they were some of the best I have ever had. Rich, caramelized shredded pork that only comes from low and slow cooking. The rice and beans were very good as well.
On the salsa bar the darker red chile salsa was fantastic. Just a bit of heat and very tasty. The tomatillo salsa was great too.
I can tell this is going to be a regular stop for us while we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tijuana Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Tijuana Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tijuana Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.