We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"If you still have not eaten here your missing something"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Flat House

Smith Flat House
2021 Smith Flat Road, Placerville, CA 95667
+1 530-621-1003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"If you still have not eaten here your missing something"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went back again in order to determine whether they could continue with excellance. And..If you have not eaten here yet you are missing something. The menu changes every few months and the grilled steelhead was calling. The lady had the seafood pasta and we were not disappointed. All veggies are fresh local and perfectly cooked. The service was excellant and the wine perfect. They have become so successful that reservations for the inside dining would be prudent. The outside serving area has been home to banquets, wedding receptions and afternoon teas. This little restaraunt is a credit to the community and its owner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Historic ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a good dinner out before we left Placerville. We read a long list of trip advisor reviews and decided on Smith House Flat Restaurant. Although they had a private party just finishing in the cellar we were invited to wait at the cellar bar and enjoy a glass of wine. We were then directed to a great private table and sat in what looked to be church pews. My husband ordered the ribeye steak with fingerling potatoes and heirloom tomatoes. The steak was covered in a luscious blue cheese sauce. I had the clam lingui which was so smooth and tasty. Outstanding elements of our meal were the appetizer of smoked trout and salmon with capers and a tasty basil spread..and of course our server, Joe, a descendent of the restaurant's founders in the 1800's. He was so great about getting us everything we needed. It was a wonderful meal and we plan on returning soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this place! you have two choices for seating, one is outdoors on the patio and the other is in the historic cellar. Love the cellar on a cold night as it is cozy and inviting. The patio is great for pizza and beer. The menu has some incredible selections from seafood to pasta. To find this gem, just go through Placerville, Ca and take Point View Drive. Turn left for about 1/4 mile and right on Smith Flat Road. Can't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best pizza I have had since moving to the area. Wonderful dinner, unusual in this area to have fresh sardines and these were very fresh and cooked perfectly. The eggplant invotini my husband had was delicious. They could use a better wine list. Three of the wines we wanted they were out of, next time we will bring our own and pay the corkage. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Passion for Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have had the sincere pleasure of dining at the Smith Flat House in Placerville a few times and each time I have thoroughly enjoyed my meals! These folks have a passion for food and it shows in the quality of the food, and the presentation of the plates!

Their clam chowder was loaded with flavor, amazing fresh herbs, and lots of clams! The smoked trout plate was amazing in flavors with a fresh herbed cream cheese, capers and crostini. One visit I had their mussel and clam fettuccine, and it was chockful of these little goodies where I had one in every bite! Their salmon baked in parchment was to die for! They featured a surf and turf kabob which when it arrived had everyone's mouths watering at the table! The salads are wonderful, especially their beetroot salad! Let's not forget the avocado chocolate mousse! To die for!

Kudos to Jason and Jeff for their passion! It comes through with every bite you take!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Flat House also viewed

 

Been to Smith Flat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Flat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.