We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Flat House

Smith Flat House
2021 Smith Flat Road, Placerville, CA 95667
+1 530-621-1003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Placerville, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this place! you have two choices for seating, one is outdoors on the patio and the other is in the historic cellar. Love the cellar on a cold night as it is cozy and inviting. The patio is great for pizza and beer. The menu has some incredible selections from seafood to pasta. To find this gem, just go through Placerville, Ca and take Point View Drive. Turn left for about 1/4 mile and right on Smith Flat Road. Can't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best pizza I have had since moving to the area. Wonderful dinner, unusual in this area to have fresh sardines and these were very fresh and cooked perfectly. The eggplant invotini my husband had was delicious. They could use a better wine list. Three of the wines we wanted they were out of, next time we will bring our own and pay the corkage. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Passion for Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have had the sincere pleasure of dining at the Smith Flat House in Placerville a few times and each time I have thoroughly enjoyed my meals! These folks have a passion for food and it shows in the quality of the food, and the presentation of the plates!

Their clam chowder was loaded with flavor, amazing fresh herbs, and lots of clams! The smoked trout plate was amazing in flavors with a fresh herbed cream cheese, capers and crostini. One visit I had their mussel and clam fettuccine, and it was chockful of these little goodies where I had one in every bite! Their salmon baked in parchment was to die for! They featured a surf and turf kabob which when it arrived had everyone's mouths watering at the table! The salads are wonderful, especially their beetroot salad! Let's not forget the avocado chocolate mousse! To die for!

Kudos to Jason and Jeff for their passion! It comes through with every bite you take!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The first thing that will strike you about the Smith Flat House, that is after you find it, is the decor. The cellar is awesome with the rock walls and mine shaft. It is a little gem of a place. We met friends there for dinner. We were seated promptly at an excellent booth toward the back of the dining room. My wife and I shared a roasted beet salad that was tasty and fresh. Smith Flat House sources its ingredients locally when possible and we are all for that. My friend and I had the grilled lamb chops. They were cooked perfectly with a nice sear on the outside. My wife opted for the sardine special. Although she enjoyed the dish, the work involved in boning the small fish wasn't worth it. A nice idea for home, but not one she would try again. This place makes a great addition to Placerville's restauarant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Previous Reviewers were right. Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Restaurant is a bit out of the way, so it is a destination rather than a drive buy impulse Restaurant. But the extra minute to have your GPS guide you is worth the while. Our Birthday celebration started with a warm welcome and engaging staff. The appetizers were delicious and the beverage selection was outstanding. Our three entrees were all excellent. Steak was cooked to a perfect medium, lamb shanks was delicious and ready to fall off the bone and the daily special meatloaf was abundant in size and delicious in taste. Well done Smith Flat House. Desserts were equally exceptional and our server Jamie chimed in a wonderful rendition of Happy Birthday.
As many reviewers have attested, this is a rare find and the restaurant and staff deserve our top recommendation and accolades.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Flat House also viewed

 

Been to Smith Flat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Flat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.