We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant. We enjoyed everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Independent
629 Main Street, Suite 102, Placerville, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 103 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone (530)344-7645
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant. We enjoyed everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in early for dinner. Great spicy bloody mary, good soup and fresh salad. Try the Brussels sprouts - nice. A little expensive compared to others in town, but worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
foothills..ca.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice upscale for small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

So I am ex Ny foodie...for a small town this is a class act with a nice bar and modern decor.
Try the fried chicken or very tasty burgers. Make a resv.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Food but a little over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took my family for a celebration and had very good food. The waitress was great but it took a little longer then normal to receive our food. Great presentation but for the amount of food we felt it was over priced. We ordered 5 prime rib dinners (very good) and 1 Steak Sandwich with a salad (kind of bland and tiny salad). We didn't order any desserts or appetizers. Great food for Placerville, but you can get this quality if you choose to drive to Sacramento and pay for the gas and not have spen as much money. Great if you want to stay local.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I took my family to lunch and found this restaurant to be an okay place for lunch. The food was good and plentiful. Service was slow but I think it was because of only one server available. The place was very clean and the bar area very nice. It also has a very neat outside patio dining area. Parking is limited and somewhat hard to find as you can only park on one side of the establishment during the day. Overall it was an enjoyable experience, although I thought $12 for a sandwich a little high for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, California, United States
1 review
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was our first visit and unfortunately our last ! The ambience was very nice however the food was not the best and the service was even worse. My husband ordered the 6 oz filet which was not prepared to the expectations of a fine dining restaurant as the prices/menu would suggest. It was undercooked and his baked potatoe was also undercooked. He has an allergy to the vegetables they were serving and asked to substitute the vegies for a small house salad. This should NOT be a problem ???? My new york was cooked to order however it was very tough. The waiter was more concerned with his tables in the patio area and was not attentive. As a server and a former fine dining server I expected much more. ATTN SERVERS: When a person orders a medium well filet and when they cut it it appears rare with blood on the plate..... you should notice that. Don't look at your guests plates and state that everything looks good on your end and walk away!! Very disappointed and will let all my friends and business associates know it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Independent also viewed

Placerville, CA
Placerville, CA
 

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.