We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Service and Ambience at a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buttercup Pantry

Buttercup Pantry
Main St, Placerville, CA
(530)621-1320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Placerville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Service and Ambience at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My hubsband & I moved up from Marin County in 1991 and have been going to Buttercup since for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Its down home cooking at an affordable price. It has quality & quantity, you will bring leftovers home. The staff is attentive, pleasant & management wants to know your meal and service were good. The ambience is homey and decor the same. While waiting for your meal, you can't help but notice all the great collector items placed around. They also decorate for Thanksgiving & Christmas and its wonderful to see. Breakfast and lunch are our favorite, you can go comfort food or healthy as I'm a runner so sometimes I need carb loading and sometimes a nice Mimosa to celebrate. Very nice people, haven't had a bad visit yet, recommend highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Grandma's house ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Quaint place, decent food, good service. Fine dining this is not, but family friendly decent food it is. Enjoyed my 1/2 sandwich and salad. Kids meals were varied and decent portions. Burgers looked great. I would go back for casual night. Took the waitress a long time it seemed to clear empty dishes and they started piling up at the end of the table, but just as I started to feel irritated about it, she appeared and removed the offenders LOL. Service was friendly and efficient in all other regards. Pies looked amazing, but didn't try any this time around. Definitely would come back just for pie and coffee :)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice decorations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I stop in with our two grandkids to have breakfast. The restaurant was clean and had antique decorations thru out that was very interesting. I had the Swiss miss omelet, it looked nice but was bland, my husband had a skillet and again it looked good be was bland. The numerous selection of sauce on the table help add some flavor. Grandkids liked the hot chocolate and seem happy with their food. The waitress was nice and never let our coffee cups get empty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to eat when visiting Apple Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've stopped here twice recently on our way to Apple Hill. The food is good,the service has been efficient and the servers are welcoming and friendly. Each time I have eaten here I have ordered a sandwich which comes on the most delicious squaw bread...I had the turkey,cream cheese,sprouts and cranberry sauce on squaw bread sandwich. This sandwich is mouth wateringly good. My father had the french toast which is made on thick slices of their bread which he said was very good. All five of us dining really enjoyed what we ordered and will definitely return. Buttercup is worth the stop for breakfast or lunch on your way to Apple Hill or Lake Tahoe. The only negative is their parking lot is quite small and sometimes hard to maneuver around, there is parking on the street as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a great place for breakfast. There were five of us and all of us enjoyed our breakfast. The service was excellent and timely. We would visit here again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup Pantry also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Buttercup Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttercup Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.