We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Trail Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gold Trail Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1970 Broadway, Placerville, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Quincy, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Look, if you are looking for a place with 2-4 stars, keep looking. But, if you are looking for a place to sleep and then move on, this is it! I found that the reviews are accurate for the Gold Trail Motor Lodge/Motel in Placerville, California. The place has been recently redone. My only complaint was that the knobs on the air conditioner were broken and I had to compensate and figure out how to "fix" the knobs. No big deal. The owners/managers are accomadating and friendly. They had an onsite person that made sure that you have everything that you need. If you want a Best Western experience, go to the Best Western in Placerville. This place is a lot like the motor lodge that my wife and I stayed in San Francisco. The rooms are small, much like the original motor lodges/motels. BUT, it's clean, quiet and a short distance to the downtown area. For the price of $47 plus tax, it's all I needed. There's a pool next door @ the other motel that's the sister motel. The pool looked clean and inviting, but I didn't try it. There's a microwave and refrigerator in the room and a queen bed. Enough room for me to settle in for the evening and have a good nights rest.

Room Tip: The manager/owner gives you a good room....Just go with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice stop from Bay Area to Tahoe. Leaving on a Friday night from Bay area to Placerville we hit a lot of traffic. It was nice to end up here and then go to Tahoe Saturday morning. Room was nice and clean, a great value, owner is very nice and accommodating. Son left his pillow and room, I called owner and he held the pillow for us. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We like staying here when visiting Apple Hill-gives us a head start before the crowds show up. It's nice & clean, nothing fancy, but a real good value. It was nice & quite too. Would visit again next visit to Apple Hill this fall.

Room Tip: It is located at the very far east end of Placerville-just about the time you think there's noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a Nice, clean, friendly and convenient place to stay and the price is low low low $ but its worth $$$

Room Tip: Just call the owner is on site and will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, P...
Show More
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Free Parking, H...
Show More
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hi...
#1 of 1 in El Dorado Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Magnuson Hotels...
Show More
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Trail Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Trail Motor Lodge

Address: 1970 Broadway, Placerville, CA
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Trail Motor Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Gold Trail Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Trail Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.