We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Brisket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Wild BBQ

Hog Wild BBQ
38 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667-5506
530-622-3883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 103 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: (530) 622-3883
Restaurant details
Description: (530) 622-3883
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a decent place to eat. Was not very busy on a Friday night. The beef brisket stood out and I had enough leftovers for a second meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
1 review
“Wild for Hog Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ive been here with my friends many times. Staff is always nice and friendly, the cooks are experienced and skilled, the place is clean with a down to earth casual atmousphere, like it's your family's restaurant. You get big portions for your money with lots of nice side alternatives to the run of the mill burger and fries. My fave is the garlic cheese bread. Their burgers are SUPER good, I'd venture to say the best in town. The difference? They smoke the patties for a nice charcoaly flavor. It makes all the difference. Their veggie enchelada is delicious too. It's HUGE, so split it with someone if you eat like a bird! You can also get meat in it, fyi. The hotrod nights are really cool to go to and admire the classic cars, even if you don't have one or aren't into cars that much, it's still a neat little event, though I think it's just in the summertime. This place isn't fancy or pretentious. No dress codes, no ediquette, just a nice, friendly place, the kind you go to if you want to be greeted by name, the kind you like to "hang out" at. I know I will be doing a lot of hanging out here in the future. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good ribs and brisket; good friendly service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My buddy and I ate at the Hog Wild in Placerville on Saturday night. It is located about a block south/west of where CA 49 crosses US 50, just outside the "main drag". It is a small unpretentious place, with 8-10 tables seating 4-6 each. The walls are covered with pictures of hot rods and custom cars, with names of the owners from the area.

They had 3-4 beers on tap (I had the Alaskan Amber) and maybe 8-10 bottled choices. I had the rib plate (4, 9" ribs), my buddy had the brisket (2, 9"x2.5" pieces). Both were tasty and had good sauce; the ribs were meaty and juicy. We both liked our choices.

They have a number of sides. We got: cole slaw; corn bread; garlic bread; their chunky fries. Fries and garlic bread were good. Cole slaw and corn bread were OK, but each lacked some distinctive taste that they could have had. The cole slaw was neither creamy nor vinegary. It just needed 'something else". Likewise the corn bread was blander than I like. It could have been either sweeter or 'cornier' (or something). The other sides (e.g. baked beans) may be great - we just did not have them.

I'd give it a 3.5 if I could. Overall I recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not So Wild”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owners seemed nice and the service was certainly fast. The place is clean and they apparently draw the "hot rod" club on certain days. However, the BBQ just wasn't that great. The brisket was tough and dry, and the other items were just so-so. I hate to sound negative, but that was our experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Okay, this place is owned and operated by a lady that I went to school with in 1960....the BBQ is great, regardless of what you order (try the ribs)...priced very reasonably and good choices.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Wild BBQ also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Hog Wild BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Wild BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.