We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amerikan Ichi

Amerikan Ichi
1234 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-5828
530-621-2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 106 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We live near Placerville and eat here once every few months. The sushi is good, but not the best I've had. The rolls labeled as spicy on the menu (like the Fire Roll) aren't, unless you ask for it, which you shouldn't have to do. The place is very small and crowded, and service is slow and mediocre. Prices are in line with other sushi places. I prefer Shilla Sushi up the hill on Hwy 50 in Camino, but my wife and daughter like this place. It's good, but not great. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise in Placerville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had a delicious Japanese sushi dinner last night here. I ordered my usual hamachi nigiri, some unagi and spicy tuna roll as well as an octopus seaweed salad. The portions are large ; I could barely finish it all. Very Very high quality hamachi. Loved it.
While I did not have the appetite for the all-you-can-eat dinner, it is something I will return to next time. Clearly as we left, the lines out the door indicated a strong following of Amerikan Ichi fans.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived in Placerville, CA, very late in the evening - and were lucky to find a place that was open: Amerikan Ichi was; and it was great! Though they were about to close, staff and chef were extremely friendly and we ordered our dinner from the menu. We were a bit sad, we couldn't do the buffet, but then, again, it was late and the buffet had already been cleaned out. So, we'll have to come back. :D

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had some friends take us there. The sushi was amazing and a good value for the all you can eat. Wow!! The wait staff was also excellent. This place is a hidden gem.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
“We Keep Going Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not too many great restaurants up here in Placerville, so it was an amazing surprise to find a first-rate sushi restaurant tucked away in a little street mall on Broadway. We've rarely gone there when we don't have to wait for a table (well worth it), and like us, Amerikan Ichi's loyal fans keep coming back.

Friendly, cheerful service, incredibly fresh sushi, huge portions of tempura and lots of camaraderie amont the patrons!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amerikan Ichi also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Amerikan Ichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amerikan Ichi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.