We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heyday Cafe

Heyday Cafe
325 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667-5605
530-626-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Cameron Park, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been to Heyday many times and I've never been dissapointed. The service has always been spot on. The food is always great! Love love the heyday salad, you can't go wrong. The last dinner entree I had was a shrimp penne pasta that was outstanding (new on the menu). I always order the gelato with espresso for dessert, all time favorite for me. The wine list is well thought out, I always try something new.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Its a very small and popular place. Hard to get a table at lunch. Locals eat here. Ive tried just about everything on the menu and have never been dissapointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super cool spot & so yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere here is so unique & fun. The service is always great & the menu is solid. If you are in the area, make sure to give it a try. You will love it. Everyone does.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Have been to the Heyday Cafe many times and the food is consistently GOOD! They have a great menu, and different things to choose from! Their salads are wonderful! So are their many sandwiches! I will probably go there very soon! You must make a reservation, or you will have a long wait time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Thanks to a recent TA review, we decided to give Heyday Cafe a try during a recent day trip to the snow. Frankly, Placerville had always been a Starbucks stop for us in the past, but after Heyday's sherry-infused lobster bisque (on the menu daily only during fall and winter) and the tasty chicken panini with tarragon, aioli, mango chutney, and provolone, we see the town in a very different light. By ordering the panini you may have either a caesar salad or a cup of lobster bisque. I chose both since my Valentine ordered a bowl of the lobster bisque as her main meal. We enjoyed sharing very very good food and hope you give the restaurant a try. Our bill came to $23 with tip. We only drink water, never alcohol on day road trips.

The restaurant is smack in the center of the old town Placerville thus Heyday Cafe is pocket-sized with hardwood floors, a big plate glass storefront window, and brick walls so expect not only a lack of privacy, but audibility. Probably due to space limitations, there is only one restroom yet it was quite clean. The service was pleasant and leisurely attentive, the portions more than fair for the price, and - as luck would have it - we were able to park right in front of the restaurant. Thanks TA contributors for alerting us to Heyday Cafe; we had a great day indeed as it turned out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heyday Cafe also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Heyday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heyday Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.