We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO relaxed after our Babymoon Getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Long Beach, California
1 review
“SO relaxed after our Babymoon Getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was cautiously optimistic that Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast would live up to its glowing reviews for the Babymoon Getaway I planned for my husband and myself. As it turned out, I shouldn't have wasted a minute worrying...Mark and Gayle seem to have thought of everything! Starting with the online reservations and first email communications, I was impressed. Once we arrived, the warmth of the staff (we loved the "other" Gail...their itinerant innkeeper) and the attention to detail continued to please. Our room was lovely and private, the bed was super comfortable and we loved the soaking tub on our private deck (I would absolutely recommend the Gray Pines suite). We were also pleasantly surprised to enjoy s'mores around the firepit each evening where we were able to enjoy the stars and get to know our "neighbors". Breakfast was also a highlight of our stay...we loved dining outdoors "in the trees" where we could enjoy nature humming all around us. And breakfast...it was fabulous to be surprised each morning with the delicious breakfast offerings (DO NOT skip the scones...I LOVED the apricot and white chocolate!!). I scheduled a couples massage when I first booked the trip and we enjoyed our massages so much that we immediately scheduled second massages for the following day (Summer performed the prenatal massage for me and did outstanding work!!). Since we were after relaxation, we took a leisurely visit through nearby Placerville one day and drove to (and around the entirety of) Lake Tahoe one other day. The rest of our time was enjoyed on the property walking the grounds and napping. Thank you for a super relaxing Babymoon Getaway!!

Room Tip: We loved the Gray Pines suite...it was separate from the main building and had a much more private s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Katrina, Thanks for choosing us for your Baby-moon getaway. We'll pass your comments along to Summer as to her outstanding therapeutic massage in our Spa. We'll see you again when the parents need a romantic break. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romantic inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
156
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I escaped to the sanctity of the Eden Vale Inn to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we were greeted by Gail (not the owner but the delightful innkeeper), we knew it was going to be a special experience. She was warm, welcoming, informative and gracious. She gave us a quick but thorough tour of the gorgeous property and got us settled into our beautiful room.

Eden Vale was clearly crafted to make the guest experience flawless and every detail was addressed. Peaceful surroundings, exquisite gardens, beautifully appointed rooms...nothing was forgotten!

Breakfast each morning was incredibly delicious with interesting food perfectly prepared. The ingredients were the freshest and finest available - do not miss the breakfast!

Granted, it's a bit pricey, but was worth every penny. We loved every moment we spent there and cannot use too many superlatives to describe it!!! First rate!!!

Room Tip: Book The Gray Pine if you can - it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We're glad you found us "worth every penny" even though we're a little pricey. It does cost a lot to create and maintain the quality rooms, surroundings and service. It's also rewarding to have people like you enjoy it so much. Hope to see you next time. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's best romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about this beautiful place! Gayle met us at the front of the house and immediately made us feel at home. We really appreciated the tour of the main house,outdoor kitchen and grounds, along with a short history of the bed and breakfast. It was so much fun to explore all the paths and gardens on the property. One of our favorite times was after dark when we lit the fire pit and had s'more and wine! The whole experience was so relaxing. The attention to small details was amazing, nothing has been overlooked! I can't wait to return! I would highly recommend Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast to anyone and everyone!

Stayed July 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
LaVon, We're pleased to be part of your romantic getaway. Hey, nice picture of the wine by the fire pit. See you next time you want the tranquility of Eden. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Planning our third visit for Fathers Day weekend. Mark & Gail (hosts-owners) have thought of everything... Attention to details, prompt response, helpful to accommodate your extra curricular activities and reservations. And...take advantage of their on-site spa room for a massage during your visit.
The decor & beautiful picturesque landscaping will take you to away.Actually feels like being in France. Enjoy a glass of wine while sitting around the giant fire pit- overlooking the pond..... truly An Exceptional Place!
Ann-Marie & Randy

Room Tip: I have my favorite room but all rooms are WELL APPOINTED...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Ann-Marie, Thanks for choosing Eden Vale Inn for Randy's Fathers Day getaway. It was nice to see you again as you escape the hustle of running your restaurant for a few days. Exceptional -- thanks for the kudos. See you next time you need a romantic retreat. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn Northern California's most romantic inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recent reviews on Trip Advisor had set a high standard for Eden Vale Inn with headlines line "Wonderful Treasure", "Quiet, Peaceful, Great Service", "Best in Class"...could the Inn meet the expectations set by these glowing accounts. Absolutely. We have had an opportunity to experience great service and stayed in many places across Europe and the Americas...Eden Vale Inn comes with our highest recommendation.

Mark and Gail (innkeepers) have left nothing to chance with a tremendous attention to detail and an orientation to service. We were meeting friends from nearby and chose to take advantage of their afull outdoor kitchen to prepare our meal. Mark made us feel right at home and our evening could not have been better...wine and cheese, grilled salmon and sausage, salads, fruits...abundant sunshine and the sun setting over the pond made for a perfect evening.

The room was well appointed with a private outdoor hot tub, great shower, multi level lighting technology, flat screen TV with DVD capability and a bed that brought rest have a long day of traveling.

In the morning we walked the gardens among the flowers, plants, trees and sipped coffee beside the pond watching the swallows skim the surface and the dragon flies scoot from flower to flower. We then enjoyed breakfast on the deck overlooking the garden with fresh fruit, "just out of the oven" apricot and white chocolate scones, Eden Vale granola and a full breakfast of corn quiche, polenta and sausage. Orange and apricot/mango juices provided a choice to start. The entire breakfast was delicious.

And the service....friendly, personal, helpful...on our arrival when Mark learned our next stopover was Yosemite he immediately pulled out several maps and helped us plan our next day's trip sharing his personal recommendation based on his previous visits to the park.

Finally, about twenty minutes after our departure they called to let us know we had forgotten something and offered to send it to us overnight at our next destination. Since we were not far away we chose to return...I'm almost glad we forgot the item as Gail gave us two of the delicious scones for the road. We only regret we had only one night booked at the Eden Vale Inn and hope to return at some time in the future.

P.S. While we were told the pond was "swim able" we wouldn't recommend it...thus the "pool" rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We're proud to be awarded your highest recommendation. Wow, and thanks for the review. I really do enjoy helping people plan their tour our Yosemite and drive through the gold country. Glad you had a great trip out to California's gold country. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn Northern California's Most Romantic Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had read the review, but that still did not prepare me for the wonderful treasure we found at Eden Vale Inn. Gail greeted us at the door with Sydney (the dog). The gardens are beautiful, the pond, the row boat, all the treasures you find as you walk through the property are incredible.
We brought food back and ate outside our room. Read all afternoon outside by the pond and then sat by the fire pit after dark and drank wine (they have everything you need for SMORES). Woke up the next morning, and soaked in the tub before having the most incredible breakfast. Our dog loved Eden Vale Inn as much as we did. We all will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hey, Yes we're glad your dog loved Eden Vale Inn too. We have a few more dog friendly rooms in the works out by the pond. Thanks for the review and coming to visit. See you next time you want a romantic getaway. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn Northern California's most romantic B&B getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were greeted when we pulled in by Gail (not Gail the owner) and shown around the Inn and to our room. The room was very nice with flat screen tv, great shower and outdoor tub. The breakfast was amazing. Coffee is put out at 7:30 and then full breakfast is served at 9:00 outdoors if weather is good. You get a wonderful view of gardens while enjoying the wonderful scones and fruit before your full breakfast is served. The gardens are full of trees, flowers, paths and hidden places to sit. Our room had a refrigerator by outdoor kitchen to store all our snacks and drinks. There is only one restaurant nearby (Cafe Mahjaic in Lotus- Very Good!!) , so it is good idea to bring food for lunch/dinner and if you want to BBQ, Gail will get it set up for you. We ate out one night and ate by the pond the other night with food we brought. We visited Marshal Gold Discovery Park nearby in Coloma.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with the outdoor tub in either Penthouse or Pavilion Level. Bring food to bbq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and staying at Eden Vale Inn for your Sierra Foothills wine tasting tour. We agree that the BBQ and outdoor kitchen is a nice way to enjoy the property. See ya next time you want a romantic wine tour in the Sierra Foothills. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner/Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn Northern California Best Romantic Getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is the best romantic getaway in Northern California. We're located near Placerville in the heart of the California Gold Country. This Luxury B&B offers seven exclusive and very private rooms, each decorated with a unique and modern style. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Inn b&b
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.