We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busy yet tasty and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boeger Winery

Boeger Winery
1709 Carson Road, Placerville, CA
530-622-8094
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Activities in Placerville
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Picnicking, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The winery's historic main building was built in 1872.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“busy yet tasty and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As stop number 2 on the Apple hill winery stop, this placed was amazing. I tasted the reserve wines (7 for $10 and a wine glass) while my friend did the pick six tasting. The barbera was uh-maz-ing and I can't for the life of me remember how we left with 6-bottles.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A nice selection on the reserve list, I would not bother with the front page as I like more robust wines, if you purchase any wine your tasting fee is waved. The outdoor friday music is a great addition and they do get busy. It is worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wide Selection of Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Greg Boeger has matured as a winemaker and host. His new tasting room is open, large and friendly. Most wines are free to sample, the reserves have a tasting fee. You will fined that most of the wines have intense fruit flavors, mineral tones, and are loyal to their variety. Whites are bright, clean, and crisp. Reds are robust, rich, and complex in nose and taste. A large lawn and small pond are wheelchair accessible. Many picnic tables are scattered on the ground. On Friday nights the winery is open late and many locals spend the evening visiting with friends, listening to live music, picnicking, and drinking Boeger's best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine Tasting Experience in a Beautiful Setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Boeger Winery on a recent trip to the Sierra Foothills. We drove past the beautiful manicured vineyards on our way into the property. While walking from the parking lot to the Wine Tasting Room, we encountered a gentleman washing an antique classic car. When asked if we could take a photo of the car after we did some wine tasting, he very graciously said "of course". We later found out the gentleman is Greg Boeger, the former winemaker and owner of the Winery. His son is now the current winemaker. The experience in the Wine Tasting Room started with a very warm welcome from Sue, the wine hostess. She has a great personality and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with her during our visit. The atmosphere and ambiance of the winery is wonderful. Now onto the wines ... everyone in our party were very impressed with the wines that we sampled that day. The style of the Winemaker produces consistently great tasting wines. It was hard to for us to decide which wines we wanted to purchase since we loved them all. We ended up purchasing a few bottles to take with us and joined their Wine Club so that we will be able to enjoy Boeger wines all year long. Beautiful setting, warm and welcoming staff, and great wines … what more can you ask for while spending a day wine tasting?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a couple glasses of their wine at the bed and breakfast we stayed at. It had an enjoyable taste. We do plan on drinking it again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boeger Winery also viewed

 

Been to Boeger Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boeger Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.