We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hangtown's Gold Bug Park

Hangtown's Gold Bug Park
Log Cabin Ravine Drive off Bedford Ave., Placerville, CA 95667
530 642 5232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Placerville
Type: Parks, Mines, Outdoors
Activities: Prospecting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A place to see one of the old gold mines.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent an hour here with 5 kids, ages 3-8, and they loved it. They were less interested in the mine than the panning for gemstones, but it held their attention for a lot longer than we expected. The setting is quiet and shady. Very nice place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go - but don't go out of your way to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Honestly dissapointing - I think for younger kids (mine are 13 and 15) might have been better but they were not very engaged. It is inexpensive but very short and can get crowded in the mine when several people are on tour at same time. Great site for 4th grade trip I imagine - better use of this park would be go come for the hiking and beautiful grounds vs. the touring. If I knew nothing about the gold rush I probably would have found it more interesting but having fairly good knowledge, it wasn't too interesting and we expected the mine to be so much bigger - you truly could walk through and back if you weren't listening to the tour - in 3 mts. "Gold" pan wth our little ones - they will find trinkets - our were too big to do this but the young ones were having fun only $2, per pan into some set up troughs with silt right outside the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Its small but well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The museum here is very informative and the surrounding park is shady and a great place for a picnic lunch. Stroll by the river and check out the historical site. The for fee gold panning is very fun to do with kids. You will find gold and garnets too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gold Bug Park, historical education site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've taken members of my family and visiting friends to Gold Bug Park, Placerville, for several years. When I first visited the site, it was mostly a self-guided tour, flashlight in the mine, a little gold panning in the creek. Now it is pretty much controlled, a real safety issue; they've built a demonstration stamp mill; there are picnic tables & better parking areas; and I find it a pleasant place to take people to introduce them to the history of the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Placerville's Gold Bug Park is a hidden gem in the little town that most people miss. Since there is no centralized area for attractions in the town, you pretty much have to know where you are going. And where-ever that is, it won't be close to something else. So if you are stopping by Coloma to see the State Park (recommended), or going up to Apple Hill, or stopping by the Red Hawk Casino you will not be near Gold Bug Park. But it is easy to get to, right off the Freeway through downtown Placerville. If you are heading up to Apple Hill or to South Lake Tahoe it is on the way. And it is a real gold mine you get to go inside. With a great little park around it so stop off to have lunch on the way up to Tahoe or Apple Hill. You won't be sorry, and it will not be out of your way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hangtown's Gold Bug Park also viewed

 

Been to Hangtown's Gold Bug Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hangtown's Gold Bug Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.