We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mother Lode Motel to your Saves list
Mother Lode Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at Mother Lode, it was the only place we could find that took pets in Placerville other than the historic hotel in town. It was cozy and seemed clean. I liked the slightly old fashioned feel to it too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
23
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed at this location many times and never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and the pool is welcoming. The Mother Lode is an older motor lodge but I think that is what gives it is special charm. We always make this place a stop over on our motorcycle weekend rides and plan on spending the evening at the pool and ordering in from the local pizza joint.
There are comfy tables and chairs snd we have never had any issues with delivery to this motel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great price, great service. Little old but so am I. Love the stay! Close to everything, Placerville, Tahoe, Apple Hill. Close to Placervilles main town. Oh ya and Coloma where the California gold rush began.

Room Tip: Look at a couple, then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Things were falling apart and we couldn't even close the bathroom door until we fixed it, the tile was falling off the bathroom wall, and there was a nail sticking out of the floor near the railing that my husband stepped on and got hurt. When my son pulled a used condom out from the between the headboard and the mattress that was the end. This place was a gross mess and we will never ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Mother Lode for a week in November 2012 and was very pleased with everything. The owners are very nice, my room was clean and the bed comfortable. The location is perfect for hopping on 50 to go wherever you need to go. Lots of businesses on Broadway like grocery and fast food places, so it's really convenient. Heat worked good, the shower was one of the best I've ever had, Dish TV, radio, wifi, refrig, and microwave. Quiet and I loved it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are probably all the same as far as noise (none).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice motel; quiet, clean and in a great location for Apple Hill! Very simple access to the wineries, apple orchards and the neat town of Placerville. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are old er but nice and well equipped with refridgerators, microwaves, coffee makers and comfy beds. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. Last year we stayed for an Apple Hill/Foothill wine tasting weekend. Motel is still clean with comfortable beds. We were in a smaller rear room this time. I realized the next day what was missing, the table and 2 chairs that usually are underneath the window. If you need more room make sure you ask for one. Simple, clean, vintage stay.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have table and chairs, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Lode Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.