We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Rustic Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch

The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch
Save
You added The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch to your Saves list
3700 Fort Jim Road, Placerville, CA 95667   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic Rustic Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. Although the ranch is from the mid 1800's, the rooms are very modern,comfortable and clean. The decor is authentic , yet tasteful. The traditional log cabins have been nicely refurbished and maintained. Jim Davies, the owner, is quite loquacious, personable and a great breakfast chef. He also provides an informal "Happy Hour" where guests are able to meet him and Linda as well as other guests. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a night at the Davies Family Inn with my wife and 2 other couples on April 4, 2013. We all enjoyed the stay and Jim the owner was a great host, very accommodating and entertained us with great stories. Jim had fresh cookies for us when we arrived. The rooms were great and Jim is quite the cook in the morning. We had a great breakfast of eggs, bacon, yogurt, fresh fruit and even made us waffles when he found out one of our friends could not eat eggs. This was the best breakfast we had on our entire week long trip staying in B&B's.
The grounds were very nice and there was a lot of history in the place. This was our favorite stay and we would all recommend the Davies Family Inn.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms and they were all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife & I just spent a wonderful weekend at this secluded compond outside Placerville. Jim Davies, the owner, is a gracious and welcoming host who greets each visitor as one of his family. Located amid a private neighborhood, but with easy access to Hiway 49, Apple Hill, and historic downtown Placerville, you're sure to find plenty to do, ... or not!

Room Tip: Select one of the separate cabin rooms for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a wonderfully serene experience staying here in a spacious log cabin. The Inn is located on a quiet, winding, country road between Placerville and Camino and features kept-up grounds with unique flourishes such as taxidermy. Wildlife viewing was fun; I saw deer and woodpeckers. The Innkeeper was sweet and entertaining and he cooked a delicious and satisfying breakfast (fruit salad, vanilla yogurt, chile-sausage casserole, apple cake, juice, coffee). Initially, it was a little hard to make phone reservations due to a lack of cell phone reception at the Inn and a lack of response to my website and email inquiries; however, once I got there, it was worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just finished a one night stay at Betty's Cabin at the Jim Davies Family Inn ( formerly Shadow Ridge) My husband and I were thrilled with our stay. It was a quaint and quiet cabin which made for a wonderful get-away weekend. The grounds were beautiful, well maintained and yet still had all the outdoors rustic feel that we enjoy. Jim was very accomadating with our early checkin time request. Upon our late return to our cabin, he made sure that it was well heated (it was a crazy cold weekend) and even had a basket of homemade cookies waiting for us on the kitchenette counter. The next morning, we enjoyed a wonderful homemade breakfast that was both bountiful and delightful...and was able to get some history of the area from Jim. We are already planking our next weekend up and will most likely try out the carpenter cabin. The drive up is great during the day but may seem to take forever. I do not recommend anyone take the road at night unless they have driven it at least one other time. Fort Jim Road is well marked (at both openings) but is very easy to miss after sundown. I am so glad that we picked this great b and b instead of one of the ones closer to town!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were lucky enough to get one of the four rooms at The Davies Family Inn for a night over Memorial Day weekend. It was perfect for us. It's located out in the country, off back roads that wind through excellent wineries known for Zins. The Inn is actually part of an old homestead. It's now a place for weddings and gatherings. The two cottage are knotty-pine and very tastefully decorated. Ours had a wood stove which was perfect for the rainy night. Jim the proprietor could not be more accommodating. He made a great brie/apricot appetizer served with wine, home made chocolate chip cookies and an incredible hot breakfast. It's a very friendly place (we enjoyed the other guests, drinking wine around the main lodge's wood stove). Jim got us reservations at the very popular Golden Vine Grill - excellent choice. Our stay ranks right up there with the best "finds" in our travels. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I am not the hugest fan of Placerville. But it is close to Sacramento and nice for a quick getaway. So we decided, based on almost non-existent reviews, to the Davies Inn for a one-night getaway.

The Davies Family Inn is a lovely property outside Placerville that hosts a variety of buildings for public and private space. Jim was very warm and welcoming, offering bits of history amongst the fireplace instructions and warm cookies.

We stayed in Betty's Cabin, a clean room with working fireplace, kitchenette, and bathroom. Breakfast was a bounty of deliciousness, including homemade cornbread and delightful coffee.

Would stay there again. At least I hope to!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
6.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
13.6 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 10 in Placerville
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
6.3 mi away
Albert Shafsky House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch

Address: 3700 Fort Jim Road, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three separate cabins make up this B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Davies Family Inn At Shadowridge Ranch Hotel Placerville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davies Family Inn at Shadowridge Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.