We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi Rolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish in a Bottle

Fish in a Bottle
1205 East Imperial Highway, Placentia, CA 92870 (Formerly Steamers Seafood Etc.)
714-528-4000
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 86 restaurants in Placentia
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sushi Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great menu of sushi rolls. There is indoor and outdoor seating in a strip-mall setting. The restaurant is usually busy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    13
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“I compare all others to Fish in a Bottle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is very small and does not take reservations. So be prepared to wait for dinner and big parties can be a little tough if you are not willing to patient.

Fish in a Bottle has taken sushi to the next level. I like to call this Asian Fusion sushi - because it is not traditional, but delicious. The roll sizes are HUGE - we always tend to over order. For just 2 people - 3 rolls is plenty, probably too much.

The service is never top notch - but this is a place to make sure you are not in a rush. Just enjoy your meal and company.

They have a little outdoor patio that I really like.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT SUSHI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for out of the box sushi, this is your place.

We enjoy Sushi and Sashimi and never have we been disappointed.

Also get the Spicy Edamame Beans, they are great!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top quality sushi in North County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

great selection of rolls, friendly folks, great tasting fresh fish.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“New sushi experience - go their early to get a nice table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I ate here with a work colleague; we arrived early, around 5:45pm and were seated immediately. I ordered the Edemame followed by Butterfly and Crunch Crunch rolls based on other reviews, and was not disappointed. The flavors were excellent, and completely different to the traditional sushi I have eaten in other parts of the world.
The staff were very friendly, and re-seated us to a window table a little after we had sat down, since I was originally seated facing their wine cellar (which looked more like a built-in shower to me!). The rolls are BIG; my tip is to go there with a few people, arrive early, and order them one at a time!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish in a Bottle also viewed

Placentia, Orange County
Placentia, Orange County
 
Placentia, Orange County
Placentia, Orange County
 

Been to Fish in a Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish in a Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.