We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special local cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's All American Cafe'

Penny's All American Cafe'
1053 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
(805) 773-3776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Special local cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

You'll probably have to wait for a table, but that's because of its popularity. My advice: wait, because the food and service make the wait worthwhile.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best chowder in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

this is a great place to eat, I recommend it. t...alot of choices...I found the clam chowder to be some of the best I have ever had...it is a mix of splash and brad's....I highly recommend this cafe...they also have outdoor seating, which is great on a sunny day.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Never again - waited forever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went to Penny's cafe' only once, but will never return there, I'm afraid to say.

We went there on a Sunday morning, the place is tiny and it was packed. We sat down and waited forever for the waitress to take our orders, and even longer to have our food on the table. Yes, the place was busy, but we saw tables being served before us, even if they had come after we did.
We were so frustrated that we wanted to leave, but we were hungry and kept on saying "let's wait 10 minutes more". The waitress apologized for the wait, but we found unfair that other tables were served quicker than ours...
We have not been there ever since, as there are plenty of other places locally that serve better food in a less cramped place and with a faster service.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location with a great menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ended up here when we were headed to a place down the street and it had no open seats. It is wonderful. The food was great and they had that good traditional breakfast food on the menu. The patio seating allows you to take in the ocean breeze and enjoy the outdoors. Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clam chowder was ausome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

had a Ruben sandwich to go cause I am doing my finals and they even said they would pray for me to pass my finals.Friendly place Great food reasonable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's All American Cafe' also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Penny's All American Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny's All American Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.