We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't even like sushi, but this was Great!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yanagi Sushi & Grill

Yanagi Sushi & Grill
555 James Way, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3501
805-773-3535
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 90 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I don't even like sushi, but this was Great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Awesome spot, they make the food in front of you, very cool, very delicious:)

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Great food with a view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Located on a hillside overlooking the pacific ocean and the city of Pismo Beach, Yanagi Sushi is a great place for celebrations. The restaurant has a traditional sushi bar along with several teppan tables all of which have a view. The food and service are always up to par and prices are fair. We've dined here several times for business and pleasure and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Ichi Ban! Great in the details and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My bride and I are always on the lookout for good Japanese food, and tried Yanagi for the first time last evening. As expected on a Saturday, the place was jumping, with a full waiting room. We expected a delay, but most were waiting for a grill table or the sushi counter, and when we said we wanted a table, we were seated immediately. This was a good omen for the dining experience. We were ushered to a table in back, but we still had a view of the ocean. Our server, a young man named Woo, was excellent: our hot sake came as soon as we ordered it. This was the pattern for all items: Woo constantly eyed his tables unobtrusively checking everything every few minutes, and was available instantly if you needed something. Our dinner was ready delightfully faster than we expected. My bride tests Japanese restaurants by the quality of the miso, rice, and tea. Yanagi shines on all three for her. We even got an unannounced salad with our entrees, also very tasty. She likes the ala carte shrimp and vegetable tempura, and I had a combination dish of salmon teriyaki and yaki niku, sliced beef and veggies in sauce. All was very good. We are looking forward to trying the grill table, were the food is entertainingly prepared in front of you, ala Benihana, and the house specialty sushi. We have found our Japanese food fix right in our neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great View of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought it might be a good place to check out. We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday and found it pretty empty with only a couple of the sushi tables with guests. The teppan/grill was empty. We were the first ones to be sitted. Within 15 or 20 minutes started to arrive. By 6pm, when we were leaving, the parking lot was full and people were waiting to be seated. This must be a happening place.

Moving along...we ate off the dinner menu. I had the Chicken entree with the full dinner (salad, soup and fried rice). First of all, the salad dressing was a tangy orange which was very good. The miso soup had an onion flavor that was not too strong. The service was great and the staff make you feel welcome. We ordered the fried rice which we have had at other teppen restaurant and I must say it is out of this world. They use garlic in the fried rice and it gives it a nice garlic flavor. Unlike other fried rice it is mostly made with soy sauce, butter and sesame seed. Here it was very flavorful. The vegetables that come with the dinner were also very flavorful and different. Here they add broccoli and carrots which we have not had. The spot we frequent at home uses bean sprouts, onions, mushrooms and zucchini. Here they have broccoli, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms and onions. These veggies had flavor not sure it if had garlic or they used a soy sauce with garlic. Anyhow, they were delish!

My husband had the steak and shrimp. The meat was very tender and flavorful. My chicken was hibachi style but once again cooked with full flavor. We are not from this area but we will defintately be back when we visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city ,sd
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Place good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We did not sit at a hibachi grill, but we enjoyed the show nonetheless. We only wanted sushi so a table was just fine with us. We had the gyoza and the dynamite for an appetizer, which were excellent. We had the spicy tuna roll with crab and a crunchy roll with tempura shrimp. YUM.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanagi Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yanagi Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanagi Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.