We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Inn at Pismo Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% On New Rooms
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Visalia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite Inn at Pismo Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I love the Cottage Inn by the Sea at Pismo! We used to have a trailer and stayed at Pismo Coast Village but are now in our seventies and don't want to work that hard anymore. Cottage Inn is pure luxury and comfort to us from the delicious breakfasts provided for guests every morning to the big screen television and fireplace in our room. Our bed was huge and comfy plus we had six pillows! The ocean view and chairs provided for gazing at the sea were very much appreciated. Registration and check-out were quick and easy. The staff including Jennifer, Chewy and the custodians were all friendly and helpful. We can't wait to visit the Cottage Inn again soon.
Barbara h.

Room Tip: 312 was our room, lower floor, quiet and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Barbara H.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We are so glad after retiring the trailer you have made us your home away from home. Jennifer, Chewy (Rebecca), and the entire staff look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    224
    73
    29
    11
See reviews for
190
353
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach and close to restaurants you can just walk to. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and all have fireplaces for that romantic touch. This hotel was a great stop on our hwy 1 road trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. The Highway 1 coastal trip is one of the best drives out there. Please come back and see us on your next road trip.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Cottage Inn this past February. It was beautiful! Great location. Clean room, right by the beach. Easy access. Check in was a breeze. They offered a great breakfast. It truly does feel like a "cottage".

Loved having a fireplace in the room. Enjoyed every aspect of this trip. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are glad to have exceeded the expectations for you and your daughter. We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great location in Pismo. It's near the highway, but we couldn't hear any traffic. Check in was a breeze, the front desk staff are great. When we first got to our room, there was a strong bleach smell. We opened a few windows and it soon disappeared, at least we knew the room was clean. Large room with a fireplace, mini fridge, coffee maker, etc., we were very comfortable. Also a nice breakfast set up, with juice, pastries, and a waffle station (included in price) . Plenty of parking, and although we didn't use it, a nice looking pool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our front desk staff provided you with exceptional service. We are also glad that you found your accommodations comfortable. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Cottage Inn.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We recently had plans to travel up the west coast from Los Angeles. On our way we stopped in San Luis Obispo and stayed at the Cottage Inn by the Sea in Pismo beach. What an amazing experience. The hotel service was excellent. My husband and I usually stay in know chains like Marriott, Hilton etc. This hotel was unique, it felt cozy and very intimate! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed something a little different than the hotel chains. When you come back we will look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here one night only. We booked an ocean view room and it was worth it! It was January, we spent our evening with the window open to hear the waves and with the fireplace on. The atmosphere was very relaxing, sunset unbelievable. We enjoyed the hot tub as well. Unfortunately the stairs leading down to the beach were closed.
Dinner was a bit sad, we drove in Pismo beach were there is not much really. Few places open and they all offered the same kind of food...average to say at least. So be prepared for that especially if you spend more than one night in Pismo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to post a review about your stay. While we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our Inn, we are disappointed that the restaurants in Pismo Beach did not meet your expectations. There are quite a few highly-recommended restaurants in town and some are hidden gems. Our front desk is always available to help find something that suits your taste. We hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Virginian
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My mom and I were looking for a place near Pismo Beach for a long weekend. This fit the bill perfectly.

We had a big room with a fireplace, cleaning staff that left cute towel-animals, and friendly desk staff that really knew the area and was happy to help customers.

The beds were comfy with plenty of pillow choices. Bathroom was clean and towels were plentiful. I liked having our pools/beach towels in the room for us rather than going to a desk or to the pool to get them. The pool and hot tub are small but sufficient. Beach access is down a walkway since the hotel overlooks a cliff.

They are pet friendly, so while we didn't have a pet we had fun seeing the ones others had. And we didn't experience any excessive noise from pets or anything.

The included breakfast got a little busy (the hotel was full while we were there) and the staff couldn't quite keep up with keeping everything replenished. We therefore changed our schedule to eat earlier and that worked out fine.

We rented beach cruisers at the next hotel down in order to ride to the Monarch Grove and around town.

This hotel is not right in Pismo Beach. I considered it an easy walk to town; my mom did not. But no worries because it is easy to order food delivery from local restaurants. In fact, when the delivery service we used Sunday was not operating on Monday, the desk clerk was able to recommend a different service. So we had dinners on the table in our room with the fireplace on--lovely.

I was also pleased to get a quick and friendly reply to my pre-trip email about transportation.

Room Tip: Room 726 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have staff here 24 hours per day to assist you with recommendations, reservations, and anything else you may need during your stay. We hope you will stay us again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.