We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great value, excellent location on the beach. Motel style rooms were comfortable with fireplace and great amenities. Free breakfast had good choice and staff were friendly. Free fast Wifi and good toiletries. Minor quibble water extremely hot in faucet but hardly a reason to avoid. Would recommend to anyone in the area. Nice pool but we didn't go in!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    201
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
176
308
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was a lucky find, and you can't tell when you drive up just how lucky you are to be staying there. Not only were the staff really friendly and welcoming, but the room was GORGEOUS. We had a beautiful ocean view, an incredibly comfortable bed (complete with towels folded into different animals), and a wonderful gas fireplace. There was some maintenance going on with the pool, so it was not usable & the path to the beach was a little bit soggy, but still a lovely walk in the morning with our coffee. Can't wait to go back, and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ocean view! Worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely hotel with character right on sea front. Allocated as part of a tour and wished we could have stayed longer. The real bonus was a free breakfast with a variety of choices. Large room with large comfort bed and tea making facilities. Bathroom was dirty but when complained it was cleaned immediately. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Such a lovely hotel, beautiful spot overlooking the Pacific. Rooms clean and finished off with cute swan 'towel origami' placed on beds and in bathroom, complete with Philosophy bath products. Lovely big room with large log fire, refrigerator and tea & coffee making facility. Breakfast was brilliant, a Continental buffet style with an American twist. Plenty of choices making it difficulty to know what to have! I decided on making my own waffles with fresh fruit.....delicious. Also available were bagels, croissants, cereals & yogurts and a choice of fruit juices along with hot drinks. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the area as well as the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are certainly worthy of a WOW! This was my favourite hotel on our tour of the west coast of America. The rooms are big and have a wonderful log fire in them. Only sorry it wasn't cold enough to use it. Breakfast was given at this hotel, it was very much a help yourself to croissants, bagels and fruit etc. there was no rush everyone got a seat, the cereals, bagels were constantly being re stocked. It was run so well. A BIG thankful to
KELSI who was kind enough to help me with my computer. Thanks you so much you were so patient. Also worth adding Internet was free in this hotel. It is situated on a cliff above a beach. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Would I stay here again definitely. Loved it.

Room Tip: Good restaurant just next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Being your favorite hotel on the entire West Coast is really something our team is proud of. Please come back soon to see what is new at The Cottage Inn.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location- it's just a few minuets from the downtown area of Pismo Beach, and in the other direction, it's just a short 5-10 min drive to Availa Beach. The rooms are fantastic! Very large and spacious with plenty of room for luggage without feeling cramped. There are areas where the rooms could be improved- touch up paint, updated bathrooms, etc., but I would highly recommend this hotel to someone in the area. I had a room without a view, but if possible, I'd recommend one with a water view. This hotel sits on a cliff (of sorts) that gives you great ocean views. Also, from the outdoor courtyard you get great views of the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Regarding your comments about the bathrooms we will be remodeling them in the very near future. We hope to see you on your next visit to the States.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cliff top location with hot tub overlooking Pacific Ocean and breakfast included for $115? How can you go wrong! Yes the oceanview rooms are great but IMO not worth the extra $60. The pool, hot tub and seating area give you plenty of great views. Yes the rooms are a bit rustic but the name is Cottage by the Sea after all! Awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay. The seating in the gardens with ocean views are so popular we will be adding more in the future. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.