We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our latest return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our latest return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are no strangers to Cottage Inn as our vacations are always in the Pismo & SLO areas and we always stay at the Cottage Inn. We have been going here for years. It’s always wonderful to stay at Cottage Inn and for our family. Every time we have stayed there, it has felt like we are going home to our home away from home. Our recent stay was no exception.

It is always difficult to point out exceptional experiences, because we have never had a less than perfect experience at Cottage Inn. However, this time I do wish to point out exceptional service by one individual in particular and that is a young lady named Kelsi. Kelsi welcomed us when we arrived as if we were family or friends returning home and walked us out and bid us goodbye when we checked out. It was like saying goodbye to a close friend or relative. Kelsi is an incredible individual who brings great value to both Cottage Inn and Pacifica Hotels, which is amazing, because every employee we have dealt with at Cottage Inn over the years, whether the front desk, management, or room service, all have been friendly and welcoming.

We do not get down to Cottage Inn as often as we like, but I do hope that on our next trip, Kelsi will still be a valued member of your staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Dogs are family too and Cottage Inn makes sure they are welcomed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Cottage Inn by the Sea. We are very happy to hear that our team--and Kelsi in particular--exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Jennifer Vavroch
Assistant General Manager
Cottage Inn by the Sea
(805) 773-4617
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    200
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
176
308
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 8 years ago. It was like an intimate, comfortable spa. So when we were recently passing through with our kids, we wanted to stay again. What a let down. The rooms were dated. It was 88 degrees outside and our room did not have air conditioning (when I called to ask where the temperature controls were in the room, I was told that I could warm things up by turning on the fireplace. When I said it is 90 degrees in the room and I want to cool it down, I was told to prop the doors and windows open. We didn't feel safe leaving the door open all night - not sure I would do that anywhere -, one window didn't have a screen, and one window had a broken screen). Maybe it doesn't usually get warm in Pismo Beach, but it is hard to believe they don't get requests for cooling. The bathroom had mildew on the grout. The pool was green. The cleaning staff carts blocked access to our room when we arrived in the evening and needed to get our bags up to the room, and when we checked out in the morning and needed to get our bags to the car. The positives - it is nicely located on a cliff overlooking the ocean; the front desk staff was nice; and the complimentary breakfast was really good. Unfortunately, this hotel has gone down hill during the past few years. Hopefully they will invest in their rooms to update them and make them more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly disappointed to hear that your recent stay was less-than-satisfactory. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that I may fully address your concerns and resolve them to your full satisfaction.

Jennifer Vavroch
Assistant General Manager
Cottage Inn by the Sea
(805) 773-4617
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely stay at the Cottage Inn. $250/room gave us two large beds easily shared by three friends, free WiFi, heated pool and spa within walking distance, free breakfast in the morning and parking. Beach was a short walk away.

Friendly staff too.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for one night during a trip down the coast and while it wasn't cheap, this place is quite comfortable. I'm not sure its good for more than a few nights (small pool area and limited activities) but it was perfect for our needs. It was a great place to sit and enjoy the sun set. Lovely!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved my stay at the Cottage Inn by the Sea when I was in Pismo Beach for a weekend wedding back in May. I'm originally from CA but live in Seattle now and the setting of this place served as a wonderful reminder of all the beautiful things I miss about living on the CA coast. The cottages sit atop a cliff that overlooks the ocean; you can see all the way up & down the beach and there are steps close by that take you down to the beach. We took a nice walk down the beach one morning to the pier at Pismo Beach. It was such a great start to the day! At that part of the beach there are lots of great little restaurants and surf shops - felt a lot like being in Santa Cruz to me :)
On the property of the inn there is a lovely lounge area up on the cliffs which was great for sunning and relaxing. But beware - the sun that reflects off the water is intense, so use lots of good sunblock! I got fried sitting outside the first afternoon we arrived :(
Aside from the gorgeous setting the inn itself was very quaint. Our room wasn't one of the ones overlooking the ocean but it was still quite nice and comfortable - a good value I felt. Also, the inn offers a complimentary breakfast and the staff was very friendly.
I would definitely recommend Cottage Inn by the Sea to anyone traveling through the area looking for a casual and leisurely stay on the coast.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very dog friendly, amazing view, clean and cozy. The entire place is really very romantic with fireplace in every room. (only heating source). I enjoyed the private outdoor patio facing the ocean. It was a wonderful place to relax with a glass of wine. The view of the sunset was perfect. The breakfast was simple but good. Great coffee. This location is walker friendly. Lots of restaurants and activities. Staff was great, Jennifer at the front desk was a sweetheart. Take the time to walk down to the beach, it is clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: pay for the ocean side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were on the way to San Francisco , so we stop for one night, and I'm glad we did. Hotel has a lot to offer. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Location is the best next to ocean,we enjoy out time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.