We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Healdsburg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cottage Inn has some great rooms with double beds and an enclosed dog run. No view and some road noise, but overall quite comfortable. Great beach to walk with or without the dogs.
Wouldn't delay start in the morning waiting for the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    199
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
175
308
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room and it was amazing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and well put together - I loved having a working fireplace in there, and the staff was crazy nice. The cookies at check in are a must, the free breakfast was delicious and filling. The hot tub was very relaxing, and it seems that as long as you're quiet no one will bother you about being in there past 10PM.

Just realize that this hotel is not actually on the beach, it is on a cliff overlooking the beach. However, there are steps that access the beach on the property, and it only takes a minute to get down there. The Inn is also within walking distance of a great seafood restaurant called Steamers. Downtown is a quick drive away as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good hotel, good rooms, but many rooms are too close from the Freeway. It is quite noisy. Only beach view rooms are silent. The little garden facing the see is really nice. Breakfast is average. There are no transparent curtains on the windows, so when you walk out of the bathroom, either you are in the dark, or anybody can see you.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are away from the Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
albertdespammie,

Thank you for your feedback. Our traditional rooms are only steps from our English garden with dramatic ocean views. These rooms do offer value to many of our guests. It is also true that our full ocean view rooms are perfect for any special occasion. We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to experience this option in the near future.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It looks just like the pictures--it's such a nice hotel! We stayed in an oceanfront room, and goodness it was amazing! Sleeping to the sound of the waves. The room was immaculate and gorgeous. The fireplace was wonderful. Most of all, what made our stay wonderful was the staff. Everyone was SO helpful and cheerful. From the time we arrived until we left, we felt like top-priority. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it, from arriving to leaving the staff were lovely breakfast was really nice, a wide variety of food to choose from. The location was just perfect the rooms were a good size with 2 big beds which were very comfortable. The cottages overlooked the beach a fantastic view, and a lovely walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our travels down the pacific west coast. From the efficient and helpful reception staff, to the lovely lady who left lovely towel sculptures every day, our stay was great. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms really nice with good quality shampoos, shower gels etc. The complimentary breakfasts were magnificent with more than enough to set you up for the day.
We would thoroughly recommend this lovely, quirky looking hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family of four just got home from a two week cross-country journey and wanted to end the trip by spending a couple of nights on the California coast. I found the Cottage Inn on the internet and made the reservations, and it turned out to be great thing! First of all the hotel is divinely cute. It's jammed in between two traditional-looking "big-box" type hotels, and its look instantly strikes you as different. It's literally a cottage style building complete with gorgeous gardens overlooking the beautiful blue Pacific. Our room was perfect. We had the second floor room on the far left of the facility, ocean front. So our room windows looked straight at the ocean and down on the pretty gardens (where we saw a cute bunny hopping around one day!) The hotel has no a/c, but we slept with the windows open and enjoyed the great sea breeze. The beds were very comfy with nice plush pillows, and there were robes in the closet, which is always nice. The garden area was lovely and made a great place to sit and chat or read, and the outdoor pool was heated and also "walled off" with plexiglass to block the cold wind. The staff was incredibly polite and helpful, too. The breakfast area was a bit crowded on the first morning we were there, and the way it's laid out doesn't help matters. (The counter has a big indentation that everybody seems to get funneled into) and the room also gets really noisy when full of people. But there are also tables on a pretty patio outside. The breakfast is billed as an expanded continental, so it's mostly cold cereal and pastries with the only fruit choices being apples or bananas. Another big plus was that yummy cookies from a local bakery were available in the lobby every afternoon.

Now for the minuses, and they are few. The bathroom and bedding were spotless, but the carpet in our room was rather dirty (so much so that if you walked barefoot your feet got dirty), and there were crumbs and stains on the chairs. Also the hair dryer in the bathroom was so weak and puny it was hardly worth even using. But those are the only complaints I have. The hotel was cute and charming, and we had a mellow relaxing stay there. If I were ever in the area again, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.