We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
newark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it, from arriving to leaving the staff were lovely breakfast was really nice, a wide variety of food to choose from. The location was just perfect the rooms were a good size with 2 big beds which were very comfortable. The cottages overlooked the beach a fantastic view, and a lovely walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    199
    66
    27
    10
See reviews for
175
308
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our travels down the pacific west coast. From the efficient and helpful reception staff, to the lovely lady who left lovely towel sculptures every day, our stay was great. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms really nice with good quality shampoos, shower gels etc. The complimentary breakfasts were magnificent with more than enough to set you up for the day.
We would thoroughly recommend this lovely, quirky looking hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family of four just got home from a two week cross-country journey and wanted to end the trip by spending a couple of nights on the California coast. I found the Cottage Inn on the internet and made the reservations, and it turned out to be great thing! First of all the hotel is divinely cute. It's jammed in between two traditional-looking "big-box" type hotels, and its look instantly strikes you as different. It's literally a cottage style building complete with gorgeous gardens overlooking the beautiful blue Pacific. Our room was perfect. We had the second floor room on the far left of the facility, ocean front. So our room windows looked straight at the ocean and down on the pretty gardens (where we saw a cute bunny hopping around one day!) The hotel has no a/c, but we slept with the windows open and enjoyed the great sea breeze. The beds were very comfy with nice plush pillows, and there were robes in the closet, which is always nice. The garden area was lovely and made a great place to sit and chat or read, and the outdoor pool was heated and also "walled off" with plexiglass to block the cold wind. The staff was incredibly polite and helpful, too. The breakfast area was a bit crowded on the first morning we were there, and the way it's laid out doesn't help matters. (The counter has a big indentation that everybody seems to get funneled into) and the room also gets really noisy when full of people. But there are also tables on a pretty patio outside. The breakfast is billed as an expanded continental, so it's mostly cold cereal and pastries with the only fruit choices being apples or bananas. Another big plus was that yummy cookies from a local bakery were available in the lobby every afternoon.

Now for the minuses, and they are few. The bathroom and bedding were spotless, but the carpet in our room was rather dirty (so much so that if you walked barefoot your feet got dirty), and there were crumbs and stains on the chairs. Also the hair dryer in the bathroom was so weak and puny it was hardly worth even using. But those are the only complaints I have. The hotel was cute and charming, and we had a mellow relaxing stay there. If I were ever in the area again, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations last minute.read trip advisor and yelp..really enjoyed my stay, front desk friendly, clean rooms, minor cosmetic wear, grounds well maintained, enjoyed beach access and the gardens overlooking the beach, continental breakfast was eggs, waffles, breads, pastries, yogurts, variety of hot n cold drinks, ladies at breakfast area were friendly and quick to pick up our dishes..our stay price was fair for this hotel we will definitely stay again here..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the cottage inn for 2 nights in October.

An incredibly peaceful place, very friendly staff and a thoroughly relaxing stay.

Comfy bed, more towels than you could shake a stick at. Its worth paying for a sea view room.

Pismo itself is a lovely seaside town with the best Italian restaurant I've ever been to.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We orignally booked to stay here for one night whilst driving around. Due to a few hiccups in santa barbara, we came back and stayed for an additional two nights!
Firstly you are hit, by how this stands out amongst the other hotels in the area, its lovely to look at. Checkin was a pleasure, from smiling helpful staff, to a lovely lobby, everything was explained(and not at 90 miles an hour so they can get rid of you).
we opted both times for the king ocean view room , and was not disapointed. Clean, spacious enough for me and hubby, and a lovely view!. Small coffee maker, with provisions, plus fridge and microwave.Table with two chairs(ice bucket), and iron and ironing board to name a few things.
Outside WOW what a view of the ocean, lovely gardens to sit and just look at the view, whilst sipping on a cup of coffee.
The beach is fantastic, and if you walk towards the pier end, and keep going, there are sand dollars on the beach just waiting to be picked up.
Breakfast was a continental affair, but one of the better ones ive had in the US. Everything was fresh, juices, tea/coffee, breads for toasting, yoghurts, cereals, bagels and best of all was a make your own waffles!!!.
coffee is avalible 24/7 in the breakfast room, so you can just walk up and fill a cup, if youre too lazy to make one in your room
At 4.00 daily in the lobby, fresh baked cookies are avalible(free of charge), and are gorgeous, when we stayed they were plain sugar baked, choc chip, and raisan and where very tasty.
The pool is one the small size, with hot tub, but with a beach like that on your doorstep who wants the pool!!(it is nicely sectioned so you are away from any sea breezes)
there is a computer that you can use in the breakfast room, we did take our own laptop, but the Wifi connection is very poor(the only bad thing i can say about this place), as we visited twice we wanted to research more restaurants in the area(AJ spurs if anybody wants a meal to remember, with food a plenty!!!).

Checkout and check back in again was simple and easy, and the staff were helpful in supplyinjg us with some scissors and a bottle opener(well you never know what you might need)

Laundry facilities are avalible(washing machine is $2 for 30 mins, and drier $2 for 45 mins), ample time to rinse a few things through.
There is also a vending machine with fizzy drinks and water.

All in all a lovely place, quiet and peaceful everything we wanted, have already recomended this to friends who will be booking for their trip in march.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have arrived a bit late to the hotel. We were just passing on the way from SF to LA and we wanted to make a couple of stops in between. I have read about this place on TA and decided to book a hotel for one night.
We had a room with the sea view which was very nice and a fireplace, the bed was comfortable with good quality sheets. The breakfast was included, nothing extraordinary. They have fresh cookies that are baked every afternoon, available in the lobby. We didn't try them but we found the idea very cosy.
Free parking and internet in the room. A little pool and small jacuzzi outside.
I really liked the hotel's small garden. It had a couple of chairs to relax and to enjoy the sea view. There are stairs that bring you down to the beach where you can make a nice romantic stroll.
The receptionist gave us and advice on the couple restaurants, walking distance form the hotel and we weren't disappointed. We went to the Mexican grill restaurant which has a bar and a restaurant. You can dress up to go there. It also has table by the windows that should have a beautiful view to the sunset above the sea. When we arrived it was already night and I felt sorry we missed it. Good atmosphere.
I would definitely come back there again to spend more relaxing time.

Room Tip: Take a more expensive room with a fireplace and the sea view, it's worth it, especially in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.