We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing by the Shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% On New Rooms
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, CA, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing by the Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This property consists of six two-story buildings overlooking the ocean. It is a bit dated, but they are slowing refurbishing the rooms. The front desk was very helpful in letting us choose a room for two nights that suited us. We took advantage of their midweek 20% off rate, and it included free wi-fi and breakfast. The grounds around the pool and trail to the beach below are very nice. Our room was on the end of one of the buildings, and was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    212
    72
    28
    11
See reviews for
182
330
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I chose Cottage Inn by the Sea because of its name. Lovely. Breakfast is included and is standard "included" breakfast fare. I am an athlete, so loved that you had to do stairs to get to the beach and back. Would be difficult if you can't do stairs. I think we counted 80 to 100 stairs. Pool is small but right on the edge of the property by the cliff, so wonderful view. Spent hours on the benches by the cliff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed here a few years ago but my experience this time was great. I stayed in an ocean view room complete with a patio, fireplace, fridge, and microwave. The location of the room was great. You could either sit on your patio or 20 feet from the room was a garden area with chairs placed throughout so you could enjoy the ocean view. The inn is a little less than a mile from downtown and near Steamers restaurant, Marie Callendars, and a couple other restaurants.

Upon arriving I could hear a faint beeping sound. Two maintenance men tracked down the noise to the refrigerator which was promptly replaced. The service was amazing.

I will not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a 4 star. Room facing ocean is a must.
Nice breakfast, but hot eggs would be a simple and welcome change.
Pool is a little small.
Location is very good. You can walk along the beach for 15 minutes and you'll be at main area of Pismo.
It was pretty clean. Friendly people at the desk and the big plus -- they are organized. A little on the pricey side was my only complaint. For the price, I thought it would be just a step nicer and bigger.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This charming hotel was so lovely! The rooms were so great and large beds so very comfortable, breakfast was great! We really enjoyed the hot tub and pool with awesome view to the ocean. Cows on the mountains behind. Loved the fireplace in the rooms! Great location, nice to walk the beach. Friendly staff!! I thought it was nice a quiet too. Good price too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Travelled down highway 1 on our California trip with my sister and hubby in April, decided to stop here for 3 nights before moving onto Santa Monica. Lovely cozy hotel beautiful sea views from our room, very clean and enjoyable continental breakfast. Make sure you go to hotel lobby at 4.00 pm and get your free homemade cookies they are delicious. Would probably not stay here so long as we found there wasn't much to do in Prismo itself but if you are passing through hotel is ideal stop over. We found a great reasonable restaurant about 5 minute walk from hotel called Marie Chandler they do great pies.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A nice hotel that is great for the family. We stopped here on our way to Monterey both kids loved the style of the hotel and the breathtaking views of the Ocean. The beach is accessible via stairs and the hotel has a small outdoor pool and spa. The rooms are of a good size and are very comfortable. Breakfast was good, the waffle maker was good fun for the kids! The staff were polite and helpful. The hotel does need a little maintenance , for example the external fly screens could do with an overhaul, nonetheless a very nice hotel overall!

Room Tip: An ocean viewis a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.