We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Good rather than Good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cottage Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottage Inn by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Average to Good rather than Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Do not be taken in by the website photos, this hotel is one of several hotels and restaurants situated along the cliff top and has hotels either side of it. It does have sea views and a narrow frontage which has been made into a garden of sorts. Advertised as 'English', with the fake beams, roof tiles and non-standard rooms and windows, it is less like a normal American hotel. The evening check-in staff were enthusiastic and friendly and parking is right by your door, or outside staircase. Our room was upstairs with a sea view, the angled roof gave it a spacious feel and the fake log gas fire provided instant warmth. Tea as well as coffee making facilities were provided in the room but we wondered if 8 pillows on the bed were really necessary. We slept well in this comfortable room. The bathroom has a sliding door and robes are provided.
Breakfast next morning was a real let-down; the good impression created by the room and check-in staff was completely spoilt by the breakfast and check-out experiences. Although the Virgin brochure decribed it as 'deluxe', breakfast was more like that in a mediocre English cafe and, adding insult to injury, there was a box labelled 'Tips' when the whole thing was self-service. The check-out staff were off-hand and did not even look at us, let alone ask about our stay.

Room Tip: If you want to sit outside, choose a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    191
    62
    26
    9
See reviews for
163
290
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We finished our two week tour of Southern California with 3 nights here having chosen this hotel for the ocean view position. We had an ocean view room which is well worth it but I would have loved the opportunity to sit outside on a balcony (first floor rooms don't have a balcony) enjoying the views. However the seats in the garden area mean you can do this - sitting there enjoying a glass of wine watching the ocean (including dolphins and seals) - lovely and relaxing.
The rooms are very good, clean and well equipped and the staff were very helpful and efficient. Breakfast is a lttle limited in selection but more than adequate and there is free internet access in the breakfast room.
There is a nice pool and hot tub area - but it is not particularly big so I assume it may get busy. It wasn't when we were there and it was a bit a chilly (particularly noticeable having come from Death Valley and 115 degree!!). However the screening round the pool makes it very sheltered. Of course the pool is probably not that important when a 5 minute walk down the stairway leads you to the expanse that is Pismo Beach! Its probably a 20-25 minute walk along the beach to the pier and the centre of town (takes a similar time walking along the main road).
Pismo Beach is a small town and seemed a little 'out of season' but there are some nice restaurants and stunning scenery. The hotel was a great choice for location and an ability to relax. Do splash out on an Ocean View room - its worth it!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room - listen to the waves as you fall to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First ever night in the US - easy to check in andpark. Rooms cosy (read very warm) the ceiling fan helps., but I would be concerned staying here in summer with no air con!!
The details of the towels as swans was a lovely touch. The hotel staff were very helpful with giving us directions to local eateries and shopping.
The breakfast was basic but ok (breads, fruits and assortment of spreadable condiments). Only styed here for one night but it started my trip off well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just spent seven days at the Cottage Inn by the Sea for our first year wedding anniversary. The only rooms I would stay in are the King Ocean View with vaulted ceilings. You have a great view of the ocean and the sound of the waves to put you into a deep sleep at night, high ceilings that make the small room seem larger, and they don't allow pets in these rooms. We stayed in room 424 which was clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable, the shower had excellent pressure and always piping hot water, and the room was well insulated (we slept with the windows open at night and did not need the fireplace heater). It is a short walk to the beach utilizing the steep stairs of the hotel next door, and there is a nice garden pathway below the rooms, where you can relax and enjoy the views and the bunnies if you're lucky enough to see some. Bummer the upstairs rooms don't have balconies (the lower ones have patios) but that's a flaw in the original design. The complimentary continental breakfast is adequate, they have hard boiled eggs to go with a make your own waffle station, bagels, etc. Skip the prepared oatmeal and make your own with the instant packets provided. They try their best, but oatmeal just doesn't keep in a chafing dish... I like strong coffee and their's although it tastes ok is very weak, but that's just a personal preference. They provide cookies in the lobby in the afternoon which is a nice touch. The hotel is also within easy walking distance to Marie Callender's (so-so) and the Ventana Grill (which we highly recommend). The rooms have complimentary WIFI which was somewhat sketchy and slow the first few days of our stay, but worked pretty well for the last part. They also have a guest computer in the breakfast area, and coffee and tea available there all day. The fireplace heater in the room cranks up and heats the room quickly, but there is no thermostat so if we had needed it, I would guess you would have to get up and turn it on and off throughout the night to moderate the temperature in the room. Maybe it never gets cold enough there to require it for heat? The housekeeping staff were very nice and always smiled and returned our greeting when we were about the property. The front desk staff were OK but didn't wow us during our stay. The young lady who checked us in wearing a black hat was very nice, and there was a gentleman we ran into a few times who had the right idea about hospitality, but the rest of the interactions with the front desk were ambivalent at best. They have a guest laundry room if you need it, a pool and Hot Tub (would have liked the hot tub to be a couple of degrees hotter) discounts with Vital Touch Massage in town (excellent value!), and you can purchase a day pass to the Gym just down the street. Only minor negative, we were saving our recycling bottles and cans in a brown paper bag in our room to take with us when we left. We kept one of our volleyballs in the top of the bag so housekeeping would not mistake it for trash and remove it from the room, but on the 4th day they took it out any way (left the volleyball or they would have heard from us.) Well, unfortunately that became their housekeeping tip for our stay. The rooms are too small in our opinion for a lengthy stay for families, but it was a great value for just the two of us. We will most likely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I (along with two other couples) planned to stay here five nights. We checked out the next morning. Two of the rooms were dirty (dirty bathroom floors filled with hair, etc., cobwebs). No excuse for poor housekeeping. Staff very young and did not seem to care. Never again. We moved to the Pismo Lighthouse Suite down the street and loved it.

Room Tip: Don't go here. You will be disappointed. Very unprofessional setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Response
Amanda386,

I apologize that we failed to make your stay enjoyable and that you checked out before we could address your concerns. Our housekeeping team works very hard to maintain the rooms. We hope you consider coming back in the future to give us another chance. If you do, please feel free to contact me directly.

Brett Gibbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many hotels here in pismo. This was the first one where I thought "wow!" As we were pulling in the lot! The way the balconies/walkways are done with all the vining plants (not sure what they are) and the brick pathways, well everything, just gives you that cozy feeling :)

We had a king room that of course had a fireplace, round table with two wicker chairs, desk with chair, dresser, tv, fridge, microwave, safe, coffee stuff.... Hey there were even bathrobes hanging in the closet! Plenty of towels too and beach towels ready to go as well! The fireplace does heat up the room VERY fast!

The cons to our trip were few, the large bathroom light wouldn't work, the door jam on our room was broken, and we were told there was a continental breakfast, and there was, but we couldn't find any silverware...

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and we plan on returning in the future :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights here. Easy access from the highway. Beautiful ocean view. Good size rooms with all amenities. Swimming pool moderately big with hot tub. easy access to the beach. For some reason Pismo beach seems cloudy in the morning but quite sunny in the afternoon. Great for relaxing. Only disappointment was the breakfast. The service was good. Good restaurants within walking distance. On our last day there was a shark warning on the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view are slightly more expensive but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.