We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Sandcastle Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Advance Purchase
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Sandcastle Inn while attending the Pismo Beach Clam Festival. The hotel is very attractive and the location is fantastic, right on the beach, near the pier. Our room on the second floor had a nice balcony overlooking the beach- a great place for a glass of wine watching the sunset. The staff was very helpful, giving us tips on restaurants and nearby wine tasting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am so glad that you could join us over Clam Festival weekend. Thanks for your kind review and I am very happy that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our thrid floor balcony overlooking the ocean. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Long Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We agree with all the comments about friendly staff, great location, pricing more than reasonable for beach front. We can add only one new comment: by talking with staff we learned the secret of their success. Employees - both front desk and housekeeping - told us that management treats them with more respect than they've found elsewhere. For example, apparently even part-time staff get health benefits. Respect for workers = respect for guests! Based on this experience, we're now going to look for Pacifica Hotels (that's the name of this small chain) in all our California coastal travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAStevenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks very much for your review of our hotel. We very much appreciate you being our guest and do look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Friendly staff, efficient check-in, clean, well cared for, very comfortable bed. The management is always improving. Just added beer and wine you can buy at the front desk at reasonable prices. We've spent annual weekends at the Sandcastle for like 18 years, always know what to expect. You are right on the sand, so just grab a cup and take a walk on the beach early, or sleep in to the surfsounds. Short walk to local restaurants.Breakfast is OK to get you going, but Old West Cinnamon Rolls is just up the street, my favorite. Love Pismo, and appreciate the caring operators of this Inn.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are most desirable and expensive but if you are in one of the 'side view'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattfromSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
My staff and I thank you so much for your very positive review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy one of our new local wines or microbrewed beers as well. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is the best place to stay in Pismo!
The location is tough to beat, right on the beach and walking distance to restaurants and pier.
The real nugget is the staff. These folks make other hotels level of service look sad. Always patient, accomodating and friendly, even the maids and maintanence folks smile and greet you.
I stay in a lot of hotels while travelling on business, very few I would use for personal vacations but the Sandcastle is the exception.
Comfortable rooms, great breakfast, comfortable patio overlooking the beach. It's tough to find better!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I very much appreciate your positive comments about our staff as well. They truly are top notch and try very hard to always provide the highest level of customer service for our guests. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Shop around for prices, I booked through booking.com and got the room at half the rate I heard being quoted over the phone at reception.

Staff are great and the breakfast is brilliant if a little busy at peak times due to a lack of space. All the guests we spoke to seemed happy to be there with no complaints. Great little sun terrace on the second floor to lounge around on in the evening with other guests.

Location is excellent.

Only negative if I really am being picky is that it's a 4pm check in. If this was say 2pm as with most hotels I really couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Nice quiet hotel, we chose a partial-sea view (which is stretching it as we could see the sea out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben870407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel while on your California road trip. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of and enjoy our 3rd floor sun deck as well. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really nice place and right on the beach. We had a great continental breakfast that was included in the cost. We did have to change rooms because of a plumbing issue, but were compensated for our troubles. We will go back!

Room Tip: A great continental breakfast was served that will save you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MistycentralNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially our continental breakfast. I was happy to learn as well that my staff handled a difficult situation to your full satisfaction.Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best place to stay in pismo beach! The beachfront views are amazing! The rooms are great. Nothing fancy, but very comfortable. Surrounded by awesome food and great bars. I would highly recommend this place! The employees were very helpful and nice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaliforniababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am so glad that you absolutely loved your stay with us and found my staff to be very helpful and nice. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing