We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Pismo beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Dinuba, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Pismo beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Love SANDCASTEL inn
I stayed there a few times
Loved everything
Clean room awesome service
Good breakfast!! The best hotel ever
I recommend this hotel
It's one of the best hotel in Pismo beach!! You won't regret ever staying there!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    158
    50
    12
    13
See reviews for
200
251
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family stayed here in June 2013 as we made our way up the California coastline from LA to San Francisco. The Sandcastle Inn was our first night's accommodation on the road trip.
The check in and check out process was pleasant and efficient and the staff were more than helpful with making some dining suggestions within the town (which there are a lot of).
Our room was situated overlooking Pismo Beach - which was a real bonus as it was the classic Californian view of wide beach and long pier.
The room itself was a bit small for 2 adults and 2 teenage sons (17 & 13), even though we tried to get as big a room as our budget would allow. Thankfully, the 2 queen beds were supplemented by what the Americans call a cot bed (a foldaway single bed) which suited number 2 son well. For an overnight stay for a family of 4, it worked OK. If you were looking to stay for a couple of days, you might struggle if there were 4 of you. If you were only a couple, then you'd have plenty of room. Saying that, the rooms were very clean, well appointed and, most importantly, had comfortable bedding.
The motel offers a simple complimentary breakfast each morning - which helped to get us underway for the day.
I would certainly recommend staying at Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach

Room Tip: An oceanview room is worth the few extra dollars to enjoy the great Californian sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Sandcastle Inn is a clean, updated, basic hotel with a great location. Staff members were friendly and attentive and while the complimentary breakfast was very basic, everything there was good and the breakfast room was clean and nicely appointed. If you plan to use the beach, the location is perfect. The hotel is in the flat section of town, so you can walk right out onto the beach. It is a few blocks south of the center of town though so the beach in front of the hotel is not too crowded. The hot tub in front of the hotel was perfect after spending some time in the ocean and provided a lovely view. Complementary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate offered all day were also appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decided to take a train trip with my granddaughter and friends. Wanted a hotel near the beach and booked our stay here. I could not have made a better choice, Amazing staff, great room with a view of the ocean and a free breakfast that to start off our days of exploring all the Pismo Beach had to offer. Great location within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Will definitely go back and not think twice where I will book our hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachmama24
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I found this place online and couldn't be happier. The location was fantastic, we were right on the beach and could walk to many restaurants and shops!! The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed everything about your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Roger Wightman / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pros:
- Great location this is literally on the beach
- The staff is nice and courteous

Cons:
- The furniture is dated and the equipment is noisy. e.g. the fridge makes weird noises every hour and makes it difficult to sleep
- You can hear people upstairs walking.

Room Tip: Look for Ocean "Front" if you need unobstructed ocean views not ocean 'view' rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Sandcastle Inn, Pismo Beach, CA many times over the past 10 years. Each and every time we have a beautiful, clean and comfortable ocean front room with a beach/ocean view and access we haven't found anywhere else. The staff is always very friendly and helpful - we've had a few great meals locally from recommendations made by them! Any time we are going to do a beach visit a stay at the Sandcastle Inn is a must!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the second or third level allow you to leave windows open and enjoy the sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.