We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Sandcastle Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
So Cal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great hotel right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our second time staying at the Sandcastle Inn. We stayed in a jr suite with ocean views (our room looked out to the pier and you could easily see the waves from both windows and the large balcony. The jr sutie is larger thatn the other rooms (chair, footstool, coffee table, sofa, dining table and 4 chairs along with a large, flat screen TV, microwave, mini fridge and a fireplace. THhe balcony was larger than the other balconies with 2 chairs, a small table and 2 chaise lounges. The hotel is clean, comfortable, perhaps a bit dated but it is right on the beach. The rooms are very, very clean, they have a hot tub downstairs, a firepit overlooking the ocean on the top floor (3rd floor). There is a fireplace in the breakfast room, with a vie of the ocean. The continental breakfast is included with the room. The breakfast is not too bad for a free, continental breakfast. The have a hot waffle station where you make your own fresh begian waffles, toast, bagels, pastires, scones, several cold ceareals, hot oatmeal, with brown sugar and raisins on the side, instant packages of oatmeal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, jucies coffee, tea and milk. The hotel is within walking distance to the boardwalk area and pier (you can see them from the hotel and it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to either. They are oceanfront, so you leave the hotel and walk over the sidewalk to get to the sand. They also serve fresh cookies in the afternoon. The staff is very, very friendly and helpfull. Overall, we would come back to this nice motel on the beach.

Room Tip: get an oceanfront room, the views are awesome and it is worth the extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    206
    71
    16
    17
See reviews for
274
347
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We drove the PCH from L.A. to SF and made several stops along the way. This was the cheapest hotel we stayed in - and the best. The location is great. We had a newly renovated ocean front room with a wonderful view.

The room was great, the bed was comfortable and there was a large screen TV with tons of movies to choose from (for an extra fee). The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was really good by american standards.

After having watched dolphins from the pier and a wonderful clam chowder at Splash Cafe, we ended up relaxing in the outdoor jacuzzi. A perfect day.

I would recommend this to everyone and definitely go back if I have a chance.

Room Tip: We had a newly renovated ocean front room, and with prices like these I see no reason to book anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We love staying here! It is the only place in Pismo we stay at! They are so accomidating for dogs too! The location is awesome for walking everywhere! And parking is never a problem! Even the partal ocean views have pretty good views! And a out door shower for after your sandy trip to the beach!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We chose Pismo Beach to stop for only two nights before continuing our trip towards LA. But, fortunatelly, we had a good surprise with the hospitality and cosy rooms, besides the great staff in Sandcasttle Inn. So, first we decided to saty one more night and on the following day we again asked for another extra night. It is a good value and a nice stop for those who are looking forward to relax, enjoy a nice beach and wonderful view, not to mention the the fact this hotel is very close to convinient shopping areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our third visit to the Sandcastle Inn. If the weather is normal--cool--I have no complaints. This year however, it was warm to hot, which led me to discover that the hotel is without air conditioning. Believe it or not. The only way to cool off the room enough to sleep was to leave the sliding glass patio door open all night, and since anyone could easily climb the walls between patios, an open door means zero security. I didn't like it, but nothing happened, fortunately. If it's warm outside you are going to be uncomfortable. The annex building does have AC, but the ambiance isn't the same. At least you have that choice, or you can find a hotel with AC. Other than that, it's a nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Annex building has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When I checked in, i opted to upgrade to an ocean front room-it was super fabulous to have a patio facing the ocean! Well worth every penny! The staff was excellent, full breakfast was nice and there is a spa that is perfect to use and watch the sunset over the ocean. My only regret is not booking an extra night! We look forward to another visit real soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing time this is the place to stay. This hotel is right on the beach. Quiet rooms with only the sound of the ocean waves. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. The rooms are comfy and spotless. The continental breakfast is superb! This is the only hotel we stay at when visiting Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean front view and partial view rooms on the second floor are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#9 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.