We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Inn to your Saves list
Sandcastle Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Visalia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I'm a regular guest at the Sandcastle Inn, traveling the coast frequently on business. I began staying here two years ago initially because of the location (beachfront). I continue to stay because of the outstanding service, cleanliness and great hospitality. Everyone from the manager Roger, desk clerks Kayla, Debbie and Teri, thru the cleaning staff and breakfast hostess offer a friendly welcoming enviroment and they always accomodate my needs. Even the maintenance guys greet guests verbally and with a smile! I have stayed at other area hotels when Sandcastle is sold out but I haven't found one that provides even close to the same level of service and hospitality.
The location is quiet and relaxing for a weary road warrior, no traffic noise, just the relaxing sound of the ocean. Free (and reliable) internet is another welcome bonus.
This hotel is one of those little gems business travellers usually keep to themselves but these folks deserve recognition for their outstanding service, hospitality and as an all round great hotel.

Room Tip: Even the partial ocean view rooms in the south complex and on the north side of the main building ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    175
    57
    12
    15
See reviews for
221
278
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I and a number of our children and their families spent from Thurs-Sun at the Sandcastle Inn. We were exceptionally pleased with everything from the service the staff provided in making the reservations (which were changed a number of times, as we had a number of rooms and schedules changed), the hot breakfast provided (make your own waffles, etc.), the location (right on the beach, with ample shopping close by), the patios overlooking the ocean (we had ocean front rooms), the bicycle rentals, etc., etc. Everyone in our party had a great time and the staff at the Sandcastle contributed greatly to the success of our weekend. Thanks for a great job and the excellent facility!

Room Tip: I would definitely get the ocean front room for the view, the sunsets, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool Place, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our three night stay at the Sandcastle Inn was exceptionally delightful. Our lovely third floor west-facing room offered a spectacular view of the Pacific and wildly beautiful sunsets. Additionally, our room was sparkling clean and afforded us the comfort that we expect for the price point. Most importantly, the friendly, helpful, and professional service that each hotel team member offered us is key in our "excellent" five-star rating. We highly recommend this lovely Inn and proffer this tidbit to you; please do reserve a west-facing room...it's gorgeous!

Room Tip: West-facing rooms have stunning sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

The Sandcastle Inn was a very pleasant surprise for a pet friendly hotel. The room was quite clean, decorated nicely, did not smell at all like other hotels' "dog" rooms, was nice and fresh, and the staff and service were wonderful. There was even a dog water bowl and a bag of dog treats to welcome our two little well-traveled dogs in our room upon our arrival. The breakfast was great too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Sandcastle many times over the course of 7 years (more than 10) and each stay has been outstanding!! The hotel staff are always courteous, down to earth and very accommodating. Roger (the manager) is very engaged with ensuring all guests receive world-class service and will even provide local wines (Edna Valley Paragon Chardonnay...MMMMMM!!) prior to arrival.

I must say that this property is quite pricey compared to others in the area but the good things in life are usually worth it! Don't skimp.......get one of the oceanfront rooms! You simply can't beat waking up to the sound of the waves crashing outside your private balcony/lanai and that fresh, cool ocean air.

Did I mention, free delicious breakfast with freshly made waffles, delicious pastries and fresh fruit. Local gourmet coffees too!
Clean rooms, impeccable service and free warm cookies every evening.

Without a doubt, the Sandcastle is the best property on the Central Coast of California!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in September and had agreat stay. Unbeleivable location best in town. Lovely sea view from room, car park, wi-fi, adequate breakfast all included. Would reccomend and stay again

Room Tip: get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Not what I expected-bit said okay we'll manage. Bed soft, old, lumpy and uncomfortable. Breakfast: all carb -- looked liked others were enjoying it. Front Desk agents: crabby don't like being there. Left the room at 7:30 am .. You would expect the room to be done by 2:30 pm-- but it wasn't. Had to call agent made an excuse and 2 hours later still waiting - I will not be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.