We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place in Pismo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Save Saved
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Place in Pismo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our family was looking for a place to go within a days drive of LA. We have a small dog and small kids, but wanted a nice place. We found the Spyglass Inn and now have made 3 trips back. We love the ocean view with balcony, clean and nicely furnished rooms. The hotel is dog and kid friendly - without losing luxury.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    65
    31
    17
See reviews for
109
210
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our 5-day stay at the Spyglass Inn. It is easily accessed from HIghway 101, right off the highway, in fact. We did not, however, hear any traffic noise in our room. We had an ocean front room on the second floor with a great large balcony. The veiw is absolutely breathtaking. The room is large and roomy, nothing fancy, but good all the same. The king size bed faces the sliding glass doors, so when lying in bed, you see the beautiful ocean and could hear the waves crashing, this was so priceless for us in that we could lie in bed and read (which we do alot!) and have that gorgeous view and the sound of the waves, loved it! The sink and vanity are separate from the shower and toilet, and this worked well for us! There is plenty of water pressure and hot water in the shower, which has a little bench to sit on while showering, it needed. There is plenty of closet and drawer storage space. The mini-frig worked well (on high kept everything very cold), however, it would have been nice to have a micro-wave to re-heat items. We always prefer to have the micro for left-overs, eating in, etc... So, hopefully, Spyglass will read this and consider it! :) The staff that we dealt with were all friendly and answered our questions. You can smoke on the balcony and the outdoor grounds and this was a plus for us. So many of the hotels in Pismo only allow smoking in the parking lot, which I feel is totally prejudice against smokers! We had lunch at the hotel restaurant, very good, and dinner, only so-so, even though I had the steak and lobster (steak a little tough and the lobster had probably been frozen too long) and hubby had rack of lamb, which was served drowning in a very dark, not so good tasting sauce (he had to ask for the mint jelly). The outdoor deck is, however, a very nice place for a meal either day or night. Pismo was suffering from a heat wave during our stay and our room became extremely hot during the day. It was too uncomfortable to stay in the room during the day. There is no AC in the room (that would have been greatly appreciated) but there is a ceiling fan and box fan which we put on the table facing our bed. The evenings were OK if we left the door cracked to catch the breeze. It finally cooled down on Thursday, the day before we left. Housekeeping did a great job every day and left plenty of towels. There is only one ice machine, the other side of the pool and way across the parking lot. It would have been nice to have one on our side of the complex. The Spyglass has that "coastal" feel to it and that is important. Again, we really enjoyed our time at the Spyglass. We were looking for a quiet place to relax, read and rejuvinate. The Spyglas fit the bill and we will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Pismo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We paid a little more for an ocean view room ($149)...well worth it....patio overlooking the ocean and beautiful landscape. The room was very nice with a fireplace. The boardwalk on the ocean side is the back of all the hotels and is just beautiful..leads to the beach on one end. There is a little store on the corner that had all kinds of deli stuff and wines...very good.
We did not eat in the restaurant, so nothing good or bad to say. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Spyglass Inn is a 70's style motel which has been given a makeover about 10 or so years ago. The location is superb, but everything else is very tired and dated. Nice bar tho.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010 via mobile

Staff was excellent. Real friendly people. The rooms are very very clean and are beautiful. The staff was also very knowledgable and helped me find fun things to do as I visited Pismo. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We had high hopes...we were however disappointed the bathrooms were really small, carpet was frayed, bathroom stained/old and drapery needed cleaning. Oh and there was nothing great about the front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
At the Spyglass Inn we take pride in offering our guests a clean and quiet escape. We always try to provide excellent customer service to all of our patrons. We hope to have the opportunity to have this guest back as our guest at the Spyglass Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I travel to Pismo Beach once of twice a year, and I've been doing so for over 50 years. However, the general population has discovered this wonderful stretch of the California coast which has driven up the price of motel stays to a point that makes it difficult to justify the trip. There are many other places to go in California for a reasonable price. But about 15 years ago I discovered the Spyglass Inn. It's not directly on the sandy beach, but it's less than a 5 minute drive down the road from the wharf. It sits on the bluff in Shell Beach with access to a very nice beach area if you don't mind a 3 minute scenic walk. You get a large, clean and comfortable ocean view room for substantially less money than a comparable room on Pismo Beach itself. The staff are friendly and helpful, wireless internet is free and the beds are comfy. The restaurant serves great food and you'll find yourself eating many meals right there on the premises. As long as their prices stay low I would highly recommend the Spyglass Inn.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.