We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% On New Rooms
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good basic motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Pismo is about 4 hrs from SF and 4-3 to LA. Good stopping point for those not in a rush. As with the vast majority of hotels, one needs to select and pay for a view. We found it affordable and the staff helpful in picking the best room available within the confines of what we were paying. Ours had a little balcony outside. Believe a small fridge (not mini bar but a proper small fridge was standard). The queen beds seemed to be true queen beds (not the scaled down "queens" so many hotels have) but the pillows were foam, which gave us neck cramps. (we are picky about beds, sheets, pillows...and noise). There's a string of hotels right next to each other all along the beach and freeway - many might be in the reach of freeway noise. Our room was OK, but we could definitely hear trucks much of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    186
    83
    34
    18
See reviews for
132
255
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The spyglass inn was an affordable place to stay in Pismo! The room was clean and the staff was incredible. We just need to stay the night and this was the perfect place. I wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the beach views!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and decorated well. There's a big difference where your room is located as far as the view. If you want an ocean view you'll have to specify and possible pay more. The hotel is located on a bluff over the ocean near other nice hotels as well, so you can take a nice walk and visit other bars/ restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel sits on the cliffs on Pismo beach, it's an older but well kept. We didn't have an ocean view but the view was just a few short steps away. Other than the location being great, the restaurant that is connected has the best food. We ate there several times and even had dessert in our room. Housekeeping was very efficient and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was truly a welcomed and pleasant surprise for me and my family. We were driving up the coast from San Diego to San Francisco and we thought we would drive straight through but decided to stop in Pismo as everyone was tried from the drive. I quickly did an internet search for hotels in Pismo Beach and several reasonably priced hotels came up (around $89 / night). I checked all the hotels on TripAdvisor and the Spyglass Hotel had recent glowing reviews. We were not disappointed! The hotel looks good inside and out. The property is well maintained and the view of Pismo Beach is AWESOME. The rooms exceeded our expectations. Although the rooms are not "new" they are very well maintained and huge! There is also a decent enough restaurant on the site. If the Spyglass Restaurant does not suit you there is a gourmet grocery store next to the Shell gas station with baked good, coffee, sandwiches, wine, beer, etc. If I am every in Pismo Beach again I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

great value hotel right off highway overlooking ocean. we had a back room but the front rooms had a wonderful view. lovely walk along coastline in the morning. the restaurant overlooks the ocean and food is varied and reasonable. service good. hotel room quite spacious with large bathroom. very pleasant front desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I were not sure what to expect when we made our reservation at the Spyglass inn. When we arrived the front desk was very helpful and the room was great. We especially enjoyed the view and the fireplace. It was also centrally located and close to the freeway for easy access. My wife and I recommend that you try the Spyglass Inn on your next trip to the central coast area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.