We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Save Saved
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a one night stop over on our way north up the coast. The rooms were dated, it is true, but the balcony on the second floor facing the ocean was great. Took a walk along the "promenade" and enjoyed watching the dress rehearsal for a wedding that was going to take place probably the next day. We had both dinner and breakfast at the adjoining restaurant, and the food was good. The staff both in the restaurant and at the front desk on checking in were polite, friendly and accommodating. I would consider another stop at the Spyglass if we were traveling in the area again.

Room Tip: Certainly go for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    164
    72
    32
    18
See reviews for
121
218
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We drove here from Carmel making it an overnight stop before going on to LA. The room we were allocated was dark,dreary and dirty. A side sea view next to the bins and with freeway noise all night. No, we could not close the door as there was no air conditioning, only a huge noisy fan kept in the rather dirty closet.This motel is needing to be flattened and rebuilt. The only good point were the friendly staff in the restaurant and bar. Food acceptable, but we wondered why Trailfinders are recommending it. It is a very low star establishment.

Room Tip: A view of the Ocean might have helped but I don't think the bedrooms would have been any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay at the Spyglass Inn. Our ocean view restaurant is one of our best assets. I can assure you that I and the staff are working together to make the necessary changes to ensure that these challenges do not happen again in the future.
Jim Guthrie
805-773-4855
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner england
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is great for a night. Room was clean but very dark (not unusual I know!) we had a sea view which is great. Very overpriced for what it was. Restuarant was friendly and food was ok! Stay for a night if you like but why not stay somewhere else cheaper and put money into a great steak meal or something else..better value

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Spyglass Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally and discuss your recent stay with us. Please feel free to reach me at 805-773-4855
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Instead of fighting for a mediocre room during WOW (Week of Welcome) for Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo, we decided to retreat to Pismo Beach so we could wake up to the beach. We booked a month in advance but when we woke up we regretted not having insisted on a room facing the ocean. The weather was clear and the walk along the beach glorious. The hotel was a good value although not very inspired in accommodations. The room was dark and the mattresses were not very comfortable. The pancakes were very doughy in the hotel restaurant - but the ambiance of sitting outdoors for that view rates the full experience 4 stars.

Room Tip: Face the beach, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

rooms are outdated. Toilet in our room ran all night, popcorn ceiling had dirt all around the ceiling fan in my nieces room. Our room needed paint in various areas on the walls, where the paint or wallpaper was coming off. The bed was so-so.. overall I do not think it was anything to brag about and I've stayed at much much better quality hotels for 1/2 the cost and on the ocean as well. Restaurant is good though, but not really affiliated with hotel, different owners. Air conditioning in the rooms would be a suggestion, just because your on the ocean doesn't mean its going to be cool in your room. They say the hotel was recently renovated, but I don't see that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best hospitality experience of any hotel in Pismo Beach. Please contact me directly so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I have been to Spyglass Inn several times. The last few years they did some upgrading of the grounds and ocean view terraces. This visit it looked much better. We stopped by this time for only one night because it wasn't a planned vacation. We had to make a stressful trip to Northern California and wanted to unwind afterwards. So we stopped for just a night, to take in the beautiful view and have a nice dinner at the Spyglass Restaurant. There is another hotel in Pismo we also like but Spyglass Inn is less expensive and just as relaxing. Of course, we always book an ocean view room. It costs a little more, but the view is the reason to be there, isn't it?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I did a stopover at Pismo Beach for one night. The room we had was on the 1st floor with no ocean view but facing the car park. The room was large and it has a reasonable size LCD TV, fridge, bath robes and comfortable nice beds. They have a restaurant too. It comes with free WiFi. Since our last visit, the price has gone up. The property has a really nice ocean edge cliff walk with a path down to the sand at one end. Pismo is a lovely town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park and main road can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;