We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 mi away from Pismo Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Mid-Week Stays
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 mi away from Pismo Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's cozy, clean, and cost efficient. It's three miles away from the Pismo Beach pier and all the yummy food and candy stores. It's next to all these amazing resorts that probably costs three times. But I got Oceanview room, second floor, and it was serene and quiet. All you hear is the ocean. I saw ppl fly kites in the garden.. it was surreal how perfect it was. The interior is nice. There's a wall furnace for heat.

Room Tip: Pay more for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First rate. Not 4 diamond or 5 star, but homey, comfortable and an unbeatable value!! We thoroughly enjoyed our mini-honeymoon at the Spyglass. We will revisit often. Well worth your hard earned money! Take advantage of the "pay now" discount.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55omega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to Pismo to see the Monarch Butterflies. The view from our room was wonderful, sat on the patio & watched the sunset. Even though it rained most of the time we were in Pismo, we enjoyed our fireplace & watching the rain from our patio. Would stay again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Spyglass Inn four times in two years and they just keep giving us reasons to not come back. It starts with the games that their marketing department plays. Fill out their 15 minute online survey for a $25 discount on your next stay that cannot be used. Get a $50 promotion credit on your next stay which can only be applied when paying rack rates. Their latest scam is charging a $75.00 + ($7.50 tax) pet fee. With most hotels/motels, pet fees range from $10-$20 per night to $25-$50 per stay. Many hotels/motels do not charge for pets at all.

Let's be clear, the Spyglass Inn is a 1970s motel that has only been slightly updated. The rooms have popcorn ceilings, dated wall paper and few amenities. When your neighbor takes a shower, you will hear the water running through the pipes in the walls. If you are on the ground floor, you will hear every step that your upstairs neighbor takes (all night long). This motel survives only because of it's location.

When checking out, we were asked about our stay. We expressed our concerns to the person on the front counter who acted like she had heard it a thousand times before. After two years of putting up with this motel, we have decided to move on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandCtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. This is a new program and the fee is one time only for an unlimited stay, we take all comments into consideration. We will pass this on to our team and review it accordingly. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were touring down the Pacific Highway and wanted to stay in the area, hopefully to do some whale watching. Bad news: the whales had moved south earlier than normal so we didn't get to see them. But there was some consolation: we got to see humming birds for the first time, right on our balcony. The hotel was quite acceptable (between a mark of 3 and 4 but closer to 4). The rooms were comfortable and relatively quiet even so close to the highway. The food in the restauarant was also quite good for both dinner and breakfast, but for our second night we ate at Zorros for dinner and breakfast. Its a short car ride south along Shell Beach Road and is somewhat better. The walk along the coast is very good here and the hotels including the Spyglass have made a good walkway. I was also pleased that the hotel offered a free of charge computer for customet use. Much appreciated as we are from the UK, did not take our laptop and do not have internet enabled mobile phones. Overall a good value place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea, probably on the top floor (of 2). The view should be very good, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_and_Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

the weather was perfect, the view was gorgeous from our balcony, the room is comfortable and cozy, we rented movies there is a refrigerator. we went to the casino and local restaurants. we went to restaurant on property at sunset and had a glass of wine, $6.00 you can't beat that. it was a wonderful 4 nights, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a beautiful place. The rooms are comfy, the bar has a great view. You can eat out on the deck, different levels of seating. Food was wonderful. Great place to spend the new year at. We had a special deal too, $99.00 a night, with a $50.00 restaurant coupon. What a deal! ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Symplymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing