We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the shoreline” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Mid-Week Stays
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good location near the shoreline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were touring down the Pacific Highway and wanted to stay in the area, hopefully to do some whale watching. Bad news: the whales had moved south earlier than normal so we didn't get to see them. But there was some consolation: we got to see humming birds for the first time, right on our balcony. The hotel was quite acceptable (between a mark of 3 and 4 but closer to 4). The rooms were comfortable and relatively quiet even so close to the highway. The food in the restauarant was also quite good for both dinner and breakfast, but for our second night we ate at Zorros for dinner and breakfast. Its a short car ride south along Shell Beach Road and is somewhat better. The walk along the coast is very good here and the hotels including the Spyglass have made a good walkway. I was also pleased that the hotel offered a free of charge computer for customet use. Much appreciated as we are from the UK, did not take our laptop and do not have internet enabled mobile phones. Overall a good value place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea, probably on the top floor (of 2). The view should be very good, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_and_Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

the weather was perfect, the view was gorgeous from our balcony, the room is comfortable and cozy, we rented movies there is a refrigerator. we went to the casino and local restaurants. we went to restaurant on property at sunset and had a glass of wine, $6.00 you can't beat that. it was a wonderful 4 nights, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a beautiful place. The rooms are comfy, the bar has a great view. You can eat out on the deck, different levels of seating. Food was wonderful. Great place to spend the new year at. We had a special deal too, $99.00 a night, with a $50.00 restaurant coupon. What a deal! ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Symplymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a long drive from San Francisco, it was a welcome relief to find Spyglass inn and check into our room. We thought about finding another restaurant in Pismo Beach, but after reading the reviews, we dined in the Spyglass restaurant. It was midweek in October, so a bit quiet, but the food and waitress was excellent. We would be more than happy to stay there again, especially as the Elephant Seals can be found up the coast, just a few miles away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblegtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

By necessity, I requested a room on the first floor (no elevators). This was great as long as I could open the door and get an ocean breeze. There is no AC, the day temp was over 80, so it was not pleasant at night all closed up. For me personally, no AC is a deal breaker, but many people won't mind that. Fire place if it is cold. OK room other than that. Did hear noise from nearby rooms.

Room Tip: Try for ocean view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed this weekend (Sat night only) at Spyglass and found the dining experice was excellent.... Our hotel was unbearable until around 7 pm due to heat and with zero AC not a good mix... The hotel had a wedding that evening and one room connected to the wedding kept the party going till 3:30 in the morning... Many rooms around us were upset to say the least... We called front desk that did nothing to shut it down... Nice view, food but make sure no wedding so they can't ruin your time on the central coast...

Room Tip: Ocean view is the only way to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

had a good view of ocean from our room #216.the bed was good t.v good room needed some repairs broken lamp with short in it.lamp on night stand didn't work.sliding closet doors needed new rollers very hard to open and close doors.fan blades needed cleaned or painted maybe both.on top of t.v. cabinet people left empty bottles and half empty ones maid just left them there.i pulled down and put in trash.the restaurant that is there needs some help food not that good and service very slow coffee served cold.tables needed cleaned up instead of leaving dishes and food there for long periods of time.maybe short of help or need bus boys.prices were high on food.we ordered steak and got cube steak not that good.

Room Tip: #216 if they have fixed things i told them about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigchez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing