We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upgrades make this a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Save Saved
You added Spyglass Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice upgrades make this a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for several years finding it a hidden gem on the ocean. It had become quite tired and in need of repairs. I am happy to say that our last stay was incredibly pleasant. New balconies, new landscaping beachfront and they have replaced shower stalls and were working on the decks of the restaurant. Didn't eat at the restaurant but there were more people than usual. More attention overall to the state of the property and the same friendly helpful staff. Earlier this year I dropped my camera while packing my car, not realizing I had lost it. The staff located it and mailed it back to me immediately. It was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    160
    68
    32
    18
See reviews for
113
213
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night in an Ocean Front Room during our road trip around California. Reading the other reviews we must have had the worst room in the hotel!
Pismo Beach is a beautiful place with lots of good places to eat and stay, unfortunately the Spyglass Inn was not one of them. We were allocated the wrong room on arrival (no big deal this was soon rectified). Unfortunately, the ground floor Ocean Front room we got was not what we expected. The decor was very tired - torn arm chair in the room, decor and general grubbiness, not a room in which we wanted to spend any time.
There appeared to be strict no smoking rules in every hotel we stayed in throughout California but unfortunately some guest must have failed to read these signs as there was a smell of stale cigarette smoke in the room (horrible if you're no smokers like us). Even the usual hotel information booklet which is left in all rooms had been scribbled on by previous guests but obviously never replaced. The plug in the bath tub did not work so we could'nt have a bath and as work was going on outside of our room we couldn't take advantage of the beach front location.
We stayed at a range of hotels during our stay in California - this was definitely the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night only as we were travelling to LA, hotel is in a great location and stunning views of the ocean, theres free parking and heated outdoor pool, there is outlets for shopping about 5mins away in a car, plenty of places to eat including the restaurant at spyglass, all round a nice hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My staff and I are always aiming to make all customers happy and relaxed during their stay with us. We will look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you're on the road along the California coast this is an ideal stop off before Los Angeles. Overlooking a beautiful, quiet area of oceanfront, the Spyglass is reasonably priced with generous sized rooms. We stayed only for one night but reception was quick and efficient and there was plenty of free parking. Air con is in the form of portable units in each room but these work well enough. All in a very pleasant stay in an idyllic part of the world.

Room Tip: Upstairs give a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great hotel with reasonable prices, free parking, swimming pool and the beach..... what more could you want. Try to get an ocean front room on the second floor for the best views. The restaurant is not a part of the hotel so it must be paid separate from the hotel fees, plenty of dining within easy distance.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean front rooms are the beast but a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a last minute getaway. Stayed in the upper ocean front view. Views were amazing wish I could have stayed longer. Defiantly recommend this hotel, get a full ocean view room, great escape from the heat in Southern California.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had booked this hotel for a one night stay to break up the journey between Yosemite and San Diego. We arrived to a wonderful sunset over the bay. Hotel room was a really decent size, clean, and very comfortable.This was the cheapest hotel we had booked for our trip to California and it by far exceeded our expectations. Free Wifi was useful and staff were friendly and helpful. We had the breakfast offer in the restaurant and this was very pleasant. Only complaint was the excessive price for a glass of orange juice. Great views from the restaurant. Would definitely stay here again and would get a room overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.